State and local policy
Regulator or commission policy records
Recorded policy actions issued by regulator or commission authorities.
Authority type identifies who issued the instrument. It does not describe whether the instrument is current or legally binding.
More national filters: authority and jurisdiction
| Scope | Authority | Jurisdiction | Action | Status | Stage | Effective | Timing | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pacific Gas and Electric service territory, California California | California Public Utilities Commission Regulator or commission | State | Regulatory or tariff proceeding | Pending proceeding | Interconnection | Not in effect (open proceeding) | None scheduled | CPUC draft Resolution E-5455: PG&E energization agreement for a Google data center (pending) Primary source |
| AEP Ohio service territory, Ohio Ohio | Public Utilities Commission of Ohio Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Operation | 28 August 2026 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | PUCO interim SSO rules for AEP Ohio data center customers Primary source |
| Big Rivers Electric Corporation and Kenergy Corp. service to the Hawesville data center campus, Hancock County, Kentucky Kentucky | Kentucky Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Operation | Effective date not stated in the source | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | Big Rivers/Kenergy service agreement for the TeraWulf Hawesville data center approved Primary source |
| ERCOT power region, Texas Texas | Public Utility Commission of Texas Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Interconnection | 20 August 2026 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | Order letting ERCOT delay Batch Zero classification during the data-center audit Primary source |
| Entergy Louisiana service territory, Louisiana Louisiana | Louisiana Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Regulatory or tariff proceeding | Pending proceeding | Operation | Not in effect (open proceeding) | None scheduled | Entergy Louisiana certification case for the Meta Evest data center (U-37882) Primary source |
| Portland General Electric service territory in Oregon Oregon | Oregon Public Utility Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Interconnection | Several dates apply; see the source | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | PGE large-load tariff compliance approval Primary source |
| Ohio Edison, Cleveland Electric Illuminating and Toledo Edison service territories, Ohio Ohio | Public Utilities Commission of Ohio Regulator or commission | State | Regulatory or tariff proceeding | Pending proceeding | Operation | Not in effect (open proceeding) | None scheduled | PUCO review of FirstEnergy Ohio utilities' proposed data center tariff Primary source |
| Alabama Power service territory, Alabama Alabama | Alabama Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Regulatory or tariff proceeding | Pending proceeding | Operation | Not in effect (open proceeding) | None scheduled | Generic proceeding on Alabama Power contracts with large load data centers Primary source |
| Montana-Dakota Utilities service near Center, North Dakota North Dakota | North Dakota Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Regulatory or tariff proceeding | Pending proceeding | Operation | Not in effect (open proceeding) | None scheduled | ND PSC PU-26-235: MDU service agreement for a data center near Center (pending) Primary source |
| NIPSCO electric service territory, Indiana Indiana | Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Operation | 17 June 2026 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | IURC Cause 46322: NIPSCO special contract for Amazon data centers Primary source |
| Portland General Electric service territory in Oregon Oregon | Oregon Public Utility Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | More than one stage | 7 May 2026 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | PGE data-center cost-allocation order Primary source |
| AES Indiana service territory, Indiana Indiana | Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission Regulator or commission | State | Regulatory or tariff proceeding | Pending proceeding | Operation | Not in effect (open proceeding) | None scheduled | IURC Cause 46394: AES Indiana agreements for a planned Monrovia data center (pending) Primary source |
| California California | California Public Utilities Commission Regulator or commission | State | Regulatory or tariff proceeding | Pending proceeding | Operation | Effective date not stated in the source | None scheduled | Rate design rulemaking that includes data center rates Primary source |
| Texas Texas | Public Utility Commission of Texas Regulator or commission | State | Reporting or resource-use requirement | Completed | Reporting | 2 April 2026 | Ended 10 July 2026 | One-time energy and water use survey of data centers Primary source |
| DTE Electric service territory, Michigan Michigan | Michigan Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Operation | Effective date not stated in the source | None scheduled | MPSC Case U-21990: rehearing and reopening of Saline data center contracts denied Primary source |
| Pacific Gas and Electric service territory, California California | California Public Utilities Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Interconnection | 19 March 2026 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | CPUC Resolution E-5433: PG&E transmission energization agreement for a Menlo Equities data center Primary source |
| Consumers Energy electric service territory, Michigan Michigan | Michigan Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | More than one stage | Effective date not stated in the source | None scheduled | MPSC Case U-21859: rehearing of Consumers Energy large load terms denied Primary source |
| New York New York | New York Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Regulatory or tariff proceeding | Pending proceeding | Interconnection | Effective date not stated in the source | None scheduled | Large-load interconnection proceeding (Energize NY Development) Primary source |
| Pacific Gas and Electric service territory, California California | California Public Utilities Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Interconnection | 15 January 2026 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | CPUC Resolution E-5439: PG&E transmission energization agreement for a Microsoft data center Primary source |
| DTE Electric service territory, Michigan Michigan | Michigan Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Operation | Effective date not stated in the source | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | MPSC Case U-21990: DTE special contracts for the Saline Township data center Primary source |
| Evergy Missouri Metro and Evergy Missouri West service territories, Missouri Missouri | Missouri Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Operation | 13 December 2025 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | Missouri PSC approval of Evergy large load power service plan Primary source |
| Consumers Energy electric service territory, Michigan Michigan | Michigan Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | More than one stage | Effective date not stated in the source | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | MPSC Case U-21859: Consumers Energy Rate GPD large load terms Primary source |
| Pacific Gas and Electric service territory, California California | California Public Utilities Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Interconnection | 30 October 2025 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | CPUC Resolution E-5420: PG&E transmission energization agreement for a STACK Infrastructure data center Primary source |
| East Kentucky Power Cooperative owner-member service territories, Kentucky Kentucky | Kentucky Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Operation | 30 October 2025 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | EKPC Data Center Power Tariff (Rate DCP) approved Primary source |
| Delmarva Power & Light Company service territory, Delaware Delaware | Delaware Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Regulatory or tariff proceeding | Pending proceeding | Interconnection | Not in effect (open proceeding) | None scheduled | Delmarva large load tariff proceeding (Docket 25-0826) Primary source |
| Delmarva Power & Light Company service territory, Delaware Delaware | Delaware Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Grid-interconnection pause | In effect | Interconnection | 3 September 2025 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | Delmarva interconnection pause for prospective loads of 25 MW or more Primary source |
| AEP Ohio service territory, Ohio Ohio | Public Utilities Commission of Ohio Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | More than one stage | Effective date not stated in the source | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | PUCO denial of rehearing on the AEP Ohio data center tariff Primary source |
| Entergy Louisiana service territory, Louisiana Louisiana | Louisiana Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Operation | 29 August 2025 | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | LPSC Order U-37425: Entergy resources for a Richland Parish data center Primary source |
| AEP Ohio service territory, Ohio Ohio | Public Utilities Commission of Ohio Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | More than one stage | Effective date not stated in the source | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | PUCO approval of AEP Ohio data center tariff pages Primary source |
| Louisiana (LPSC-jurisdictional utilities) Louisiana | Louisiana Public Service Commission Regulator or commission | State | Reporting or resource-use requirement | In effect | Operation | Effective date not stated in the source | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | LPSC directive to Staff to review data-center cybersecurity effects on utility infrastructure Primary source |
| Montana-Dakota Utilities service to the Leola site, South Dakota South Dakota | South Dakota Public Utilities Commission Regulator or commission | State | Regulatory or tariff proceeding | Pending proceeding | Operation | Not in effect (open proceeding) | None scheduled | SD PUC EL24-028: MDU Rate 45 service agreement with Leola Data Center (pending) Primary source |
| Idaho Power Company service territory, Idaho Idaho | Idaho Public Utilities Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Operation | Effective date not stated in the source | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | IPUC Order 35777: Idaho Power special contract for a data center Primary source |
| Oregon Oregon | Oregon Public Utility Commission Regulator or commission | State | Reporting or resource-use requirement | Informational—not binding | Reporting | Not a binding measure | None scheduled | PUC POWER Act biennial report on data center load (2026) Primary source |
| Leola site, FEM Electric Association service area, South Dakota South Dakota | South Dakota Public Utilities Commission Regulator or commission | State | Enacted legislation or regulation | In effect | Operation | Effective date not stated in the source | Not stored as one date — see completion condition | SD PUC EL24-027: electric provider assigned for the Leola data center Primary source |
Download the policy dataset (JSON). Policy actions are not facility, project, claim, update, public-post or directory counts.