| Microsoft QuincyQuincy, Washington |
Evaporative cooling with a city-operated, closed-loop blowdown treatment and recirculation systemGovernment-documented operation |
Recycled cooling water; canal water for make-up; about 5% potable groundwater make-up annuallyGovernment-documented mix |
EPA estimate: 138M gal/year potable-water savings; 260M gal/year canal make-upEstimated savings + reported flow; not total consumption |
Water & cooling · Microsoft Quincy
Sources re-read on 12 September 2026 (software-assisted second check, not an outside audit)
Supported as of EPA observations spanning operation from 2021, 2022 connection status and early-2023 context
Said in US EPA case study · government record →
Checked 12 September 2026 · Next check: Recheck current operating status against a later agency or utility record
EPA documents an operating water-reuse system serving Microsoft's Quincy campus.
What the evidence supports EPA documents operation beginning June 30, 2021 and describes a city-operated treatment and recirculation system serving Microsoft's campus. EPA estimates 138 million gallons per year of potable-water savings, reports about 260 million gallons per year of canal-water makeup and says potable groundwater supplies about 5% of annual makeup. These are different measures and are not additive total consumption or a current meter audit.
Biggest limitation Current measured withdrawal, consumption and discharge;
Still unknown Current measured withdrawal, consumption and discharge; a reconciled explanation of Microsoft's separate 380-million-gallon estimate; and operating changes after EPA's dated observations.
Confidence: high — government case study · 1 source
Open full claim → History (1) →
|
US EPA case studygovernment case study · published 2023 |
| Microsoft Mount PleasantMount Pleasant, Wisconsin |
Company says site will pilot closed-loop chip-level liquid cooling with no water evaporation for coolingCompany-announced design |
Initial system fill; other site water uses not quantified in reviewed disclosureCompany design description |
Microsoft identified a 2026 pilot; the same disclosure says new sites begin online in late 2027Milestones announced; no operating result verified |
Water & cooling · Microsoft Mount Pleasant
Company claim
Said by Microsoft · company statement in Microsoft design disclosure · 9 December 2024 →
Checked 16 September 2026 · Next check: Mount Pleasant pilot operating evidence or a site-specific water-use disclosure
Microsoft says its Mount Pleasant pilot will use closed-loop chip-level cooling without evaporating water for cooling.
What the evidence supports Microsoft says Mount Pleasant will pilot the closed-loop design in 2026 and says sites using the new design will begin coming online in late 2027. This is a design claim, not an operating measurement.
Biggest limitation Operating configuration, initial-fill volume, other site water uses, and measured withdrawal, consumption,…
Still unknown Operating configuration, initial-fill volume, other site water uses, and measured withdrawal, consumption, and discharge.
Confidence: medium — company announcement · 1 source
Open full claim → History (1) →
|
Microsoft design disclosurecompany announcement · published 2024-12-09 |
| Google The DallesThe Dalles, Oregon |
Not established in the reviewed primary sourceNot verifiable |
Site-specific cooling source not established; separate aquifer storage project transferred to cityCooling source not verifiable |
Google says the city received 100M+ gallons/year of additional stored-water capacityCompany-reported community capacity; not data-center consumption |
Water & cooling · Google The Dalles
Company claim
Said by Google · company statement in Google project announcement · 22 October 2025 →
Checked 16 September 2026 · Next check: A utility, permit, or operating disclosure that separates data-center water use from the city aquifer project
Google says The Dalles aquifer project added more than 100 million gallons a year of stored-water capacity for the community.
What the evidence supports Google says it transferred the aquifer storage and recovery system and associated groundwater rights to the city, providing the community with more than 100 million additional gallons annually. The figure is not data-center consumption.
Biggest limitation Site-specific cooling design, cooling-water source, and measured data-center withdrawal, consumption, and discharge.
Confidence: medium — company announcement · 1 source
Open full claim → History (1) →
|
Google project announcementcompany announcement · published 2025-10-22 |
| AWS New CarlisleSt. Joseph County, Indiana |
AWS says the site uses outside air for cooling about 98% of the yearCompany operating/design claim; site is part of a multi-site cluster |
Not disclosed in the reviewed sourceNot verifiable |
Approximately 18M gal/year at full buildoutCompany projection; not permitted or measured consumption |
Water & cooling · AWS New Carlisle
Unknown
A question DataCenterData examined; no one is quoted.
Checked 11 September 2026 · Next check: no trigger recorded
Source-water mix, permitted quantity, and current metered withdrawal/consumption at AWS New Carlisle.
What the evidence supports The reviewed AWS-authored account does not establish source-water mix, a permit quantity, or current metered withdrawal/consumption. The 18-million-gallon figure is a company full-buildout projection tracked on claim:aws-new-carlisle:water.
Biggest limitation Source water, permitted quantity, current metered withdrawal/consumption, and completion.
Confidence: medium — AWS-authored opinion hosted by the South Bend Regional Chamber · 1 source
Open full claim →
|
AWS economic-development accountAWS-authored opinion hosted by the South Bend Regional Chamber · published 2026-07-09 |
| Google Fort WayneFort Wayne, Indiana |
Not disclosed in the reviewed utility orderNot verifiable |
Not disclosed in the reviewed utility orderNot verifiable |
No water metric in the reviewed order; it confirms the site was energized in November 2024Water quantity not verifiable |
Water & cooling · Google Fort Wayne
Unknown
A question DataCenterData examined; no one is quoted.
Checked 16 September 2026 · Next check: A water permit, utility disclosure, or site-specific cooling statement
The reviewed utility order establishes Google Fort Wayne's cooling design and water use.
What the evidence supports The order establishes that the site was energized in November 2024 and that Google had begun operation, but it does not establish cooling architecture or a water metric.
Biggest limitation Cooling architecture, source water, and permitted or measured withdrawal, consumption, and discharge.
Confidence: low — utility commission final order · 1 source
Open full claim → History (1) →
|
Indiana IURC order 46276utility commission final order · published 2026-04-29 |
| Meta JeffersonvilleJeffersonville, Indiana |
Not established in the reviewed project announcementNot verifiable |
Not established in the reviewed project announcementNot verifiable |
No permitted or measured water quantity established in the reviewed sourceNot verifiable |
Water & cooling · Meta Jeffersonville
Unknown
A question DataCenterData examined; no one is quoted.
Checked 16 September 2026 · Next check: A water permit, utility disclosure, or site-specific cooling statement
Meta's Jeffersonville announcement establishes the campus's cooling design and water use.
What the evidence supports The announcement describes campus size, investment, jobs, renewable-energy support, and a LEED goal, but does not state cooling architecture or a water quantity.
Biggest limitation Cooling architecture, source water, and permitted or measured withdrawal, consumption, and discharge.
Confidence: low — company announcement · 1 source
Open full claim → History (2) →
|
Meta project announcementcompany announcement · published 2024-01 |