Free data downloads · last changed 3 November 2026

Download all 2,650 U.S. data-center facilities

One row per facility register record: campuses, buildings, suites and unresolved presences, not a census of unique sites. DataCenterData fields are CC BY 4.0; every other field keeps the terms stated for it.

Same rows as GeoJSON or JSON · Reuse terms and what is included · Data guide · All public files

Reuse: the facility downloads below are free to download and reuse under the per-field terms stated with them; reviewed project and claim records are reference only for now.

How whole reviewed records are cleared for reuse

Only the field-level records marked rights-cleared in the rights file receive the published CC BY 4.0 grant. Linked source documents and reference-only records retain their own rights. No record is currently in the licensed-core subset.

Free facility data

Free to download, with per-field reuse terms. DataCenterData fields are licensed CC BY 4.0: credit DataCenterData and link to datacenterdata.com/data/. Fields that come from Compute Atlas keep Compute Atlas’s CC BY 4.0 license and its credit. U.S. government work fields carry no copyright. Values the facility register marks reference only are left out of the files, and each row’s withheld-field list names the fields they belong to; in a list such as operators only the withheld entries are left out, so other entries can remain. Exact column names are in the data dictionary.

Every facility in the register — 2,650 register records — in three formats with the same rows:

File checksums (SHA-256)
  • datacenters.csv SHA-256 c1581fa58cdbd159895b961af984fcc33b38c629c82abf91ebd6078a88acdb38
  • datacenters.geojson SHA-256 69dac7306ad6debc1a076da218a21980c1faa94c4664ae34fe6e6d9f5a930631
  • datacenters.json SHA-256 b2c3ef4505fe218b0e274add3903d83a05786b30c70b75dc3c6ef0ce536f6a8a

Suggested citation: DataCenterData. U.S. data center facility register, free download (data as of 2026-10-18). https://datacenterdata.com/data/. DataCenterData fields CC BY 4.0; Compute Atlas fields CC BY 4.0 (Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak).

Which fields are CC BY

  • DataCenterData fields, CC BY 4.0, every row: dcd_id, public_id, site_class, site_class_label, evidence_level, evidence_tier, record_unit, county_fips, cbsa_code, cbsa_name, coordinate_precision, coordinate_source, location_precision, source_families, first_listed, latest_source_date, field_origins, each row’s Compute Atlas field list and withheld-field list, plus any other field whose field_origins value is dcd_original.
  • Compute Atlas fields, CC BY 4.0, credit Compute Atlas: the fields named in each row’s Compute Atlas field list (1,728 rows).
  • U.S. government works: fields whose field_origins value is public_record (U.S. EPA Facility Registry Service fields and Census Geocoder points).
  • Links only: source_urls and site_class_sources; the linked documents keep their own rights.

Rows carrying each source-dependent field, by origin, and rows where it is withheld:

FieldDataCenterDataCompute AtlasU.S. governmentWithheld
Name01,689127834
Stated operators01,728611,030
operator_families01,72861663
Operator of record00039
Other names03360516
Street0497187726
City01,525187840
County01,6870120
State01,596187867
ZIP code0354191583
Coordinates014241751
DataCenterData lifecycle status000213
Provider-reported status01,72800
Operator-stated status00034
Stated capacity and area01,0870561

Labels and evidence

  • Crypto-mining and AI compute campuses confirmed from permitted primary sources are included and labelled in site_class, so you can keep or drop them; none is labelled yet, so every row is unclassified (not evidence either way).
  • evidence_level gives the register’s evidence tier a plain name: dcd_reviewed (a DataCenterData reviewed record in the verified inventory layer), multiple_source_families (two or more source families joined; their independence is not tested), single-family records and third_party_listing_only discovery listings, so a lead is not mistaken for a reviewed site.
  • county_fips is given only where the exported county matches the pinned Census files (1,504 rows). Coordinates appear only where the facility page publishes one (559 rows).

What is not included

  • Every value the facility register marks reference only: the operator-listed layer (names, addresses, stated operators, statuses and figures captured from operators’ pages) and DataCenterData reviewed-record fields that have not been cleared field by field. Each row’s withheld-field list names the fields they belong to (in a list such as operators, only those entries are left out); the facility page still shows them with their terms. One exception is visible: dcd_url is the address of the facility’s public DataCenterData page, built from its published page title, so for a row whose name is withheld that address can still contain a form of the name. It is a link, not a licensed value.
  • Verbatim quotations from operator pages and other sources (held in capture records; never republished).
  • Linked permits, filings, operator pages and other documents (linked, not republished; they keep their own rights).
  • Selected factual fields cited to state and local agency records (shown on facility pages with their citation; not relicensed).
  • From a Compute Atlas row that cites OpenStreetMap: its coordinate, street address and postal code. Other Compute Atlas values (for example names, cities and capacity text) pass through under Compute Atlas’s CC BY 4.0 terms; DataCenterData has not traced whether Compute Atlas drew any of them from OpenStreetMap or its other inputs. No value from DataCenterData’s own private OpenStreetMap or PNNL/IM3 lead lists is included.
  • Coordinates the site itself does not publish (below street precision or withheld after review).
  • Contact routes, private captures and internal review notes.

Compute Atlas credit

Values marked Compute Atlas (listed in each row’s Compute Atlas field list) carry this credit: “Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak”, licensed CC BY 4.0. Changes made: Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. In this download: values organized by DataCenterData facility id; coordinates, street addresses and postal codes from rows that cite OpenStreetMap removed. Keep this credit when you reuse those values.

Dates and updates

Data as of 18 October 2026: the newest input date of the facility register, not the build time and not a fresh check of every facility. The files are regenerated with every site release; changes are listed on Changes and in the Atom feed. Counts are register records (campuses, buildings, suites and unresolved presences), not unique sites and not a census.

Dates in downloads: the explained generated_at field in static JSON describes a collection date, not the latest site release or a fresh check of every record. Read the date definitions.

How much operator detail is recorded?

Operator pages captured through 14 October 2026. Each field counts a source listing once, even when it has several values. Company-wide statements are separate and do not establish a facility's services, certification or availability. These overlapping layers are not a count of unique facilities.

Listing-specific and no-value counts partition each layer. Company context, holds and expired statements are additional flags and must not be added to those totals. No value does not mean absent, researched or applicable. This table covers operator-source detail, not every field or evidence layer on the site; it does not measure national discovery or complete profiles.

Operator listings: 661 source listings · field-by-field table
Recorded detail by field
FieldListing-specificCompany contextNo listing-specific valueHeld or conflictingNot stated in saved sourceExpired
Operator-stated status430618000
Cooling redundancy149051257280
UPS redundancy86057581310
Backup generator redundancy32062944450
Tier design rating27063466340
Critical IT capacity67059458420
Utility capacity35062633440
Reported total power25063631380
Backup generation capacity7065448400
Floor area177048477330
Raised-floor area59060224470
Data hall area606556500
IT area2606355500
Site area38062335450
Year opened13064828310
Year expected506569460
Network presence237142436140
Service45116164750
Certification or compliance claim702659121280
Rack density10065113390
Availability006612392500
Specifications and facility pages10105601852370
Business contact01026611642280
Operator attachments to licensed rows: 428 source listings · field-by-field table
Recorded detail by field
FieldListing-specificCompany contextNo listing-specific valueHeld or conflictingNot stated in saved sourceExpired
Operator-stated status60422100
Cooling redundancy15102775480
UPS redundancy110031834100
Backup generator redundancy46038218120
Tier design rating30039831130
Critical IT capacity69035962130
Utility capacity26040217120
Reported total power12041629130
Backup generation capacity10041814120
Floor area146028263100
Raised-floor area22040616150
Data hall area104271180
IT area3303954180
Site area28040032160
Year opened6042219100
Year expected504238160
Network presence17702511870
Service101418840
Certification or compliance claim66163621170
Rack density004287120
Availability004281492070
Specifications and facility pages420386982240
Business contact2524261841240

For the geography and other evidence layers, see state coverage and how the counts differ. Have a missing detail? Send a correction with its source.

Separate licensed discovery layer

The national directory snapshot is adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under its own CC BY 4.0 license. Its rows are not DataCenterData findings, never enter reviewed counts, and are identified by their own layer and provenance fields. The deployed immutable-ID ledger and source manifest travel with the same atomic release.

Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

The public data behind the pages.

These static JSON files are generated from the same reviewed records used to build the site. There is no separate database or hidden national count. Files keep record units, evidence layers, source locators and uncertainty intact.

Core indexes

Published collections

Collection files contain reviewed, attributed or unresolved rows exactly as labeled. Counts from different files may overlap and are not automatically additive. The Indiana facility file is a reviewed sample, not a statewide census.

FileScopeContents
indiana-census.jsonIndiana21 records
indiana-projects.jsonIndiana15 records
national-projects.jsonMultiple states86 records
new-albany-building-leads.jsonOhio43 records
ohio-facilities.jsonOhio29 records
ohio-projects.jsonOhio20 records
projects.jsonMultiple topics6 records
Collection file with no records yet (1)

Machine access today

Every link above is a stable HTTPS JSON response and can be read without JavaScript. The free facility downloads come as CSV, GeoJSON and JSON with a data dictionary. Matching CSV files are also available for the registry, claims, corrections and lifecycle events. Changes are also published as JSON and an Atom feed. There is no query API, uptime guarantee or completeness promise yet.

Your own facility lists

My lists let you keep lists of records from every published layer, see the dated events and record changes DataCenterData has published for them, and export them as CSV or JSON with stable IDs, units, dates and each layer’s license or reuse notice. Lists are saved only in your browser; there are no accounts, alerts or subscriptions.

What may become paid later

The facility downloads above stay free to download. Their DataCenterData fields are licensed CC BY 4.0 and every other field keeps the terms stated for it in the data dictionary. A later paid product may add convenience: filtered queries, saved alerts, historical comparisons and service guarantees. Those features will use the same reviewed records and cannot bypass the evidence gate.