Minnesota index · last changed 14 September 2026

Minnesota data centers: what the public record shows.

Selected source-linked records are published below. This is not a complete inventory of Minnesota data centers.

1 published DataCenterData record · evidence status shown per row32 licensed directory leads · not independently verifiedMN

Explore Minnesota

Map, listings and checked facts.

Start with 32 licensed source leads, then inspect the separate public-evidence layer below. Licensed rows are not independently verified and are not a statewide census.

Minnesota map

Reported locations in Minnesota

32 licensed rows · 20 source localities · 4 map targets

Open interactive map
Source-reported points; some are approximate. Not parcel boundaries. Exact Approximate or representative Bounded nearby group2 symbols are offset slightly for readability; thin connectors retain their projected anchors. Open the interactive map for source coordinates.
Browse 4 mapped areas as links
Map sources and method

The state outline is adapted from the U.S. Census Bureau 2025 cartographic boundary file. Facility coordinates are adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Outline and markers use one geographic projection before any explicitly disclosed readability offset. Exact singleton source anchors are never moved. A one-kilometre boundary tolerance prevents the simplified 1:20,000,000 outline from hiding legitimate border-area source points; farther conflicts are disclosed, not clamped. DataCenterData groups source-reported city coordinates only within a bounded map radius; the outline does not validate a facility record.

32 licensed rows20 reported city labels26 eligible organization labels

Browse all 32 rows below. Licensed rows are not independently verified and remain separate from the checked public-evidence layer.

  1. source-reported cancelledCapacity not statedSource updated 25 July 2026exact location
    View facility →dcd-dir-000059
  2. source-reported cancelledCapacity not statedSource updated 24 August 2026approximate location
    View facility →dcd-dir-001090

Minnesota evidence at a glance

A few checked sites

Selected public evidence, not a statewide census. Each row shows whether it is independently source-linked, attributed, or unresolved; licensed leads remain separate.

Published project / campus
1
Published facility / building
0
Attributed or unresolved rows
0
Licensed directory leads
32 not independently verified
Capacity boundary stated
0 of 1 published DataCenterData rows
Review timing
Audit through 12 September 2026 · next 13 March 2027
Known coverage gap

No Minnesota certification list, programme report or incentive award document was obtained, so no Minnesota research lead carries an incentive record.

Browse all 32 Minnesota licensed leads → · Why these counts differ →

Campuses

1 campus record. Names are as they appear on each record page.

Meta Rosemount Data Center constructioncampus · current City of Rosemount FAQ, corroborated by city and public-university records UnknownNo independently supported figureNo selected publication source states critical-IT, gross-facility, utility-request, utility-service, generation, or measured-load MW. City of Rosemount FAQ — Public Works / Water Quality →Gov. record

Where the records were checked

Statewide audit pending

A few checked sites

This is not a list of every data center in the state, and the number here is not a count of them. There are almost certainly more.

Statewide coverage is not complete. The records below are sourced; a full statewide count has not been published.

State research audit window ended 12 September 2026. Individual records and claims below show their own evidence dates and may be newer.

Next scheduled review: 13 March 2027.

1 independently source-linked project/campus record; 0 independently source-linked facility/building records; 0 attributed or unresolved rows. These counts use different units and must not be added together.

Source families checked, selected records and remaining gaps

These notes name selected records, say which kinds of public evidence were checked and show what remains missing. They do not add anything to the published counts.

  • economic development incentives — Partly checked
    • No Minnesota certification list, programme report or incentive award document was obtained, so no Minnesota research lead carries an incentive record.
    • The bot wall was not bypassed, by rule; all three mn.gov attempts are recorded as failures.
    • The 2025 statutory changes to the Minnesota exemption, which the Illinois report describes as adding green certifications, increasing water permitting and terminating the electricity exemption, were not checked against a Minnesota source.

    Selected records

  • utility commission large load — Partly checked
    • No Minnesota docket document was read, so no docket number, electric service agreement or large-load tariff appears in the current research record.
    • No Minnesota research lead carries a utility request megawatt figure.
    • Great River Energy, Dakota Electric and municipal utility filings were not searched.

    Selected records

  • environmental construction permits — Partly checked
    • The air permit applications dashboard is a Tableau view and was not queried, so no Minnesota air permit application number was obtained.
    • No water appropriation permit, NPDES permit or wetland permit was searched, even though the dataset records Minnesota water-permitting changes for data centres.
    • No Minnesota generator fleet is documented anywhere in the current research record.

    Selected records

  • municipal planning assessor gis — Partly checked
    • Six of the seven Minnesota municipalities with active data centre cases were unreachable, so the plat, planned unit development, development contract, rezoning and denial records behind five Minnesota lifecycle statuses were never read.
    • No Minnesota county assessor or GIS portal was queried; no parcel identifier appears anywhere in the current research record.
    • The Glencoe rezoning the dataset dates to 6 November 2025 falls between the two council meetings the city's index lists, and could not be located.

    Selected records

  • tax abatement development agreements — Partly checked
    • No Minnesota development agreement, tax abatement, tax increment financing instrument or certification was retrieved.
    • Whether the Farmington development contract remains in force after the litigation the dataset mentions is unknown.
  • operator disclosures — Partly checked
    • No colocation operator page was opened for Minnesota, so the DataBank, Centersquare, Flexential, LightEdge, CENTRA, H5, Lumen, Vaultas and AAIM records rest on the dataset alone.
    • Google, Microsoft, Amazon Web Services and Tract location pages were not yet reviewed directly for Minnesota.
    • the current review did not include a broad discovery sweep for Minnesota, so operator pages could only be reached by guessing URLs or by following links already held.

    Selected records

  • open datasets directories — Checked
    • No unlicensed directory was consulted, so no independent count of Minnesota colocation facilities was attempted.
    • Because almost nothing else was reachable, 25 of the 26 Minnesota research leads cite only this one dataset, which is a single point of failure for the statewide review.

    Selected records

  • historical closures withdrawals names — Partly checked
    • Every one of these reversals rests on the dataset; no Minnesota city denial, withdrawal letter or council minute was retrieved to confirm any of them.
    • The dataset records that Google abandoned a $600 million Becker project in 2022 but holds no record for it, so that closure is noted and not carried as a research lead.
    • No closed or demolished Minnesota data centre was searched for.

    Selected records

  • news and other discovery — Partly checked
    • the current review did not include a broad discovery sweep before Minnesota, so no keyword news sweep of Minnesota was possible and the Star Tribune, Sun Thisweek and other local coverage the dataset cites was not read.

    Selected records