This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Amazon Becker Data Center (Suspended).
Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Amazon Web Services
- Address and locality
- Becker · Sherburne County · Minnesota
- Official metro area
- Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI
- Source-reported status
- cancelled
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 25 July 2026
- Location precision
- exact (provider label)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000059
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Xcel Energy
- Land area
- 348 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $1 billion
- Announced jobs
- 100 permanent · 1,200 construction
- Community response
- Provider label: mixed
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
- Announced
- 2024
Provider notes
Community. Project was economically critical for Becker as replacement for Sherco coal plant tax base (~$5M of $12M school district budget). State officials described suspension as a 'gut punch' for the community. Amazon retaining the land.
What the source record says
Amazon has not officially sold the 348-acre parcel and has not ruled out revisiting the project; 'cancelled' reflects indefinite suspension with no restart timeline. Near Xcel Energy's Sherburne County (Sherco) generating station, slated for retirement by 2030. Second major tech retreat from Becker after Google abandoned a $600M project in 2022. Star Tribune primary source was rate-limited (HTTP 429) at time of verification; story confirmed by Data Center Dynamics and multiple other outlets.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2024 · source-reported proposed
Amazon purchased 348 acres near Xcel Energy's retiring Sherco coal plant in Becker for $73.5M; multibillion-dollar data center planned as economic replacement for coal plant jobs
- 2025 · source-reported cancelled
Amazon suspended plans citing 'uncertain' permit and utility agreement timelines; Minnesota lawmakers simultaneously reduced sales tax exemptions on electricity for large data center facilities
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Amazon suspends Minnesota data center as lawmakers plan to reduce Big Tech tax breaks · Star Tribune
- Amazon Web Services suspends plans for Minnesota data center · Data Center Dynamics
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
- KNSI Radio — Amazon purchases 348 acres in Becker
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID amazon-becker-mn. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000059
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Becker, MN · Sherburne (Exact location)
Roles
- Operator: Amazon Web Services
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 2024
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2024 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2025 · source-reported cancelled
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 348 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Xcel Energy
Utility as named by the provider.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $1 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Announced jobs: 100 permanent · 1,200 construction
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: mixed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-25
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.