Licensed discovery layer · Compute Atlas 1.34.1

Illinois data centers

72 listings from a licensed directory. They are not independently verified and are not a statewide census.

72 licensed rows45 eligible organization labels31 city/state labelsLicensed edition dated 14 October 2026

Illinois map

Reported locations in Illinois

72 licensed rows · 32 source localities · 2 map targets

Open interactive map
Source-reported points; some are approximate. Not parcel boundaries. Exact Approximate or representative Bounded nearby groupA number on a marker is the count of licensed rows it holds.Licensed layer only (Compute Atlas, source data through 14 October 2026). The interactive map lists 140 data-center source listings here across licensed, operator and DataCenterData layers (82 with a map point); 172 with government registry records. Source listings are not distinct sites.
Browse 2 mapped areas as links
Map sources and method

The state outline is adapted from the U.S. Census Bureau 2025 cartographic boundary file. Facility coordinates are adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Outline and markers use one geographic projection before any explicitly disclosed readability offset. Exact singleton source anchors are never moved. A one-kilometre boundary tolerance prevents the simplified 1:20,000,000 outline from hiding legitimate border-area source points; farther conflicts are disclosed, not clamped. DataCenterData groups source-reported city coordinates only within a bounded map radius; the outline does not validate a facility record. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Two layers, two jobs. These licensed rows have not been independently verified by DataCenterData and are not a census. Reviewed evidence remains separate.

Browse by city

31 reported localities

City labels are reproduced as published. They are not inferred metro areas.

Showing 51–72 of 72 Illinois licensed source rows.

  1. source-reported operationalReported operational 36 MWSource updated 15 October 2026exact location (provider label)
  2. source-reported proposedCapacity not statedSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location
  3. source-reported proposedCapacity not statedSource updated 15 October 2026approximate location
  4. source-reported under constructionReported planned 175 MWSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location
  5. source-reported permittedReported planned 1,800 MWSource updated 3 August 2026approximate location
  6. source-reported proposedCapacity not statedSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location
  7. source-reported permittedCapacity not statedSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location
  8. QTS Chicago 1

    QTS Data Centers

    2800 S Ashland Ave · Chicago · Cook County · Illinois · 60608

    source-reported operationalCapacity not statedSource updated 21 September 2026approximate location
  9. source-reported proposedReported planned 1,000 MWSource updated 25 September 2026approximate location
  10. source-reported proposedReported planned 1,400 MWSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location
  11. Serverfarm CH1

    Serverfarm

    840 South Canal Street · Chicago · Cook County · Illinois · 60607

    source-reported operationalReported operational 21.5 MWSource updated 15 October 2026approximate location
  12. source-reported operationalReported operational 30 MWSource updated 23 July 2026exact location (provider label)
  13. source-reported operationalReported operational 40 MWSource updated 12 September 2026exact location (provider label)
  14. source-reported cancelledReported planned 150 MWSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location
  15. source-reported operationalReported operational 31 MWSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location
  16. source-reported operationalReported planned 32 MWSource updated 15 October 2026approximate location
  17. source-reported under constructionReported planned 40 MWSource updated 15 October 2026approximate location
  18. source-reported under constructionReported planned 36 MWSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location
  19. source-reported operationalCapacity not statedSource updated 12 September 2026exact location (provider label)
  20. source-reported under constructionCapacity not established; source review excludes the published figureSource updated 15 October 2026approximate location
  21. source-reported under constructionReported planned 250 MWSource updated 17 August 2026approximate location
  22. source-reported operationalReported operational 14 MWSource updated 15 October 2026approximate location
Source and reuse

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. DataCenterData normalized selected fields and added stable IDs. Download the attributed JSON → Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).