This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Prime ORD Chicago Campus.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Prime Data Centers
- Address and locality
- 1600 East Higgins Road · Elk Grove Village · Cook County · Illinois · 60007
- Official metro area
- Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 175 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 10 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001148
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Announced investment
- $1 billion
- Community response
- Provider label: supported
- Announced
- 15 November 2022
Provider notes
Community. Illinois Governor JB Pritzker and Elk Grove Village Mayor Craig Johnson are both quoted at the 2022-11-15/17 groundbreaking welcoming the project. No opposition or resident concerns documented. Checked: operator press release only.
What the source record says
Site-level figures, not entity-wide: the $1B and 175MW are stated for this Elk Grove Village campus at full build-out across three buildings; first building ORD-01 is 384,000 sq ft and up to 72MW. Status reflects the most recent sourced stage (2022 groundbreaking) — no fetched source confirms a live date, so this may lag reality. Distinct from the tracked TA Realty Elk Grove Village site (different operator, different parcel/acreage). Coordinates geocoded from the published street address.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2022-11-15 · source-reported under construction
Official groundbreaking ceremony for ORD-01, the first of three planned campus buildings.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Prime Data Centers Breaks Ground on $1B Chicago Data Center Campus in Elk Grove Village · Prime Data Centers via PR Newswire
- Prime Data Centers — Chicago data center campus · Prime Data Centers
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID prime-ord-elk-grove-village-il. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
Federal registry record
What the U.S. EPA Facility Registry Service records at this street address, selected by DataCenterData from EPA’s ECHO Exporter. U.S. government data; not independently verified by DataCenterData. It does not establish who owns or operates the site, whether it is operating, its size, or whether the registration covers one building or a whole campus.
The U.S. EPA registry lists a facility registered as “PRIME DATA CENTERS” at 1600 E HIGGINS RD, ELK GROVE VILLAGE, IL 60007.
- Name as registered
- PRIME DATA CENTERS
- Address as registered
- 1600 E HIGGINS RD, ELK GROVE VILLAGE, IL 60007
- EPA registry ID
110071876308
One EPA registration; it may cover generators for a whole campus or a single building.
Registrations EPA lists for this ID
- Clean Air Act registration (stationary sources, typically standby generators)
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001148
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- 1600 East Higgins Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 · Cook (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Prime Data Centers
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 15 November 2022
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2022-11-15 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 175 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $1 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: supported
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-10
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.