This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Steward Drive Data Center (Rochelle).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Midwest Power Investors LLC (LFF Industrial)
- Address and locality
- Steward Drive · Rochelle · Ogle County · Illinois
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- cancelled
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 150 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 12 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001009
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Community response
- Provider label: opposed
Provider notes
Community. Residents raised concerns about environmental impact and utility bills during a roughly two-year review; the mayor asked the council to vote the development agreement down.
What the source record says
Proposed along Steward Drive in Rochelle, which operates its own municipal electric utility. The initial phase would have required at least 48 MW, with later phases expanding to about 150 MW; the recorded planned capacity is the full-build figure. The mayor cited projected Illinois capacity shortfalls from 2029.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-09-12 · source-reported cancelled
Rochelle City Council rejected the development agreement 0-7 on 27 April 2026 after tabling it in March.
Sources and attribution
- Rochelle City Council unanimously rejects data center proposal · Rockford News First
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID midwest-power-investors-rochelle-il. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001009
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Steward Drive, Rochelle, IL · Ogle (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Midwest Power Investors LLC (LFF Industrial)
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-09-12 · source-reported cancelled
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 150 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: opposed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-12
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.