Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001014

Rock Air Data Center Campus

source-reported proposed

Monarch Energy

8685 Friday Road · Rockford · Illinois

Reported planned 1,400 MWSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Rock Air Data Center Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Monarch Energy
Address and locality
8685 Friday Road · Rockford · Illinois
Official metro area
Rockford, IL
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,400 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
12 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001014

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Land area
1,300 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
100 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Announced
June 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

What the source record says

Phased 1,400 MW campus on roughly 1,300 acres south of Chicago–Rockford International Airport. The state agreement requires the facility in service by 11 March 2031, carbon neutrality within two years of operations starting, a minimum 20-year operating term and at least 100 employees (74 operations, 20 maintenance, 6 executive). The investment amount in the published agreement is redacted; the program's statutory floor is $250 million, so no investment figure is recorded here.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-09-12 · source-reported proposed

    State incentive agreement executed June 2026, before the program pause took effect on 1 July 2026; the City of Rockford was not a party to the agreement.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID monarch-rock-air-rockford-il. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001014

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • 8685 Friday Road, Rockford, IL (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Monarch Energy

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: June 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-09-12 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 1,300 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,400 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 100 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Illinois Data Center Investment Program · Illinois · 2026

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-12

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →