Kentucky index · last changed 1 November 2026

Kentucky data centers: what the public record shows.

Selected source-linked records are published below. This is not a complete inventory of Kentucky data centers.

16 sourced policy records for Kentucky ↓Facility register: 32 records · by county →1 published DataCenterData record · evidence status shown per row24 licensed directory leads · not independently verifiedThese counts overlap and are not added together

Explore Kentucky

Map, listings and checked facts.

Start with 24 licensed source leads, then inspect the separate public-evidence layer below. Licensed rows are not independently verified and are not a statewide census.

Kentucky map

Reported locations in Kentucky

24 licensed rows · 18 source localities · 5 map targets

Open interactive map
Source-reported points; some are approximate. Not parcel boundaries. Exact Approximate or representative Bounded nearby groupA number on a marker is the count of licensed rows it holds.Licensed layer only (Compute Atlas, source data through 14 October 2026). The interactive map lists 35 data-center source listings here across licensed, operator and DataCenterData layers (29 with a map point); 35 with government registry records. Source listings are not distinct sites.
Browse 5 mapped areas as links
Map sources and method

The state outline is adapted from the U.S. Census Bureau 2025 cartographic boundary file. Facility coordinates are adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Outline and markers use one geographic projection before any explicitly disclosed readability offset. Exact singleton source anchors are never moved. A one-kilometre boundary tolerance prevents the simplified 1:20,000,000 outline from hiding legitimate border-area source points; farther conflicts are disclosed, not clamped. DataCenterData groups source-reported city coordinates only within a bounded map radius; the outline does not validate a facility record. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

24 licensed rows18 reported city labels20 eligible organization labels

Browse all 24 rows below. Licensed rows are not independently verified and remain separate from the checked public-evidence layer.

  1. source-reported operationalCapacity not statedSource updated 22 September 2026approximate location
  2. source-reported proposedCapacity not statedSource updated 15 September 2026approximate location

Separate layer

Also listed by operators

Sites that operators list on their own websites and that are not rows in the licensed directory above. They are kept apart and never added to the licensed rows.

7 operator-listed sites (mixed units; not added to licensed rows) in Kentucky →

2 of these sites have no supported coordinate. The map does not invent a pin or a metro placement for them.

Kentucky evidence at a glance

A few checked sites

Selected public evidence, not a statewide census. Each row shows whether it is independently source-linked, attributed, or unresolved; licensed leads remain separate.

Published project / campus
1
Published facility / building
0
Attributed or unresolved rows
0
Licensed directory leads
24 not independently verified
Capacity boundary stated
1 of 1 published DataCenterData rows
Review timing
Audit through 11 September 2026 · next 12 March 2027
Known coverage gap

No KEDFA incentive agreements or approval minutes retrieved.

Browse all 24 Kentucky licensed leads → · Why these counts differ →

Campuses

1 campus record. Names are as they appear on each record page.

Campuses published for Kentucky
Record / rolesStatusCapacity / scalePrimary evidence
Paducah Site AI/HPC Innovation CampusOperator: Brookfield · Developer: Brookfield proposedcampus 1.8 GWCompany-announced design · campus scopeDOE describes a new 1.8 GW AI/HPC campus but does not label the figure critical IT load, gross facility load, approved utility service, measured load or current consumption. It is retained only as an announced campus design. Energy Department Announces Partnership to Expand Reliable, Affordable Energy Access and Power America's AI Future in Western Kentucky →Gov. record

Where the records were checked

Statewide audit pending

A few checked sites

This is not a list of every data center in the state, and the number here is not a count of them. There are almost certainly more.

Statewide coverage is not complete. The records below are sourced; a full statewide count has not been published.

State research audit window ended 11 September 2026. Individual records and claims below show their own evidence dates and may be newer.

Next scheduled coverage review: 12 March 2027.

1 independently source-linked project/campus record; 0 independently source-linked facility/building records; 0 attributed or unresolved rows. These counts use different units and must not be added together.

Source families checked, selected records and remaining gaps

These notes name selected records, say which kinds of public evidence were checked and show what remains missing. They do not add anything to the published counts.

Local evidence by place

Licensed and operator listings, reviewed records, answers and local policy for each place. Listings overlap and are not added; a place without a line here has no published local evidence.

No local evidence answer, reviewed record or local policy record is published for Ashland, Burgin, Carrollton, Cave City, Florence, Franklin, Ghent, Hawesville, Hopkinsville, La Grange, Lexington, Louisville. Their listings above are source listings to investigate. No statewide evidence answer is published for Kentucky either; statewide rules are under Policy tracker below.

1 Kentucky answer is not tied to a published record, so it is not placed here: Kentucky answers.

Policy tracker

Kentucky policy records

16 sourced records are associated with this state context. They are grouped below as current, pending and nonbinding, and history, and each card shows its relevant date. These are not facility counts and do not cover every locality.

Current 10 records

Recorded as in effect on the dataset date. This does not mean every project in a represented state is restricted or approved.

Enacted legislation or regulation

Big Rivers/Kenergy service agreement for the TeraWulf Hawesville data center approved

In effect · Big Rivers Electric Corporation and Kenergy Corp. service to the Hawesville data center campus, Hancock County, Kentucky · State

Source document: 21 August 2026

Issuing authority: Kentucky Public Service Commission

On 21 August 2026 the Kentucky Public Service Commission approved a Retail Electric Service Agreement under which Big Rivers Electric Corporation supplies wholesale power to Kenergy Corp. for retail delivery to TeraWulf's planned data center campus at the former Century Aluminum Hawesville site in Hancock County (Maximum Contract Demand 482 MW).

Read the sourced record · Primary source

Reporting or resource-use requirement

Executive Order 2026-494: data center commitments

In effect · Kentucky · State

Effective: 6 August 2026

Issuing authority: Governor of Kentucky

Kentucky Executive Order 2026-494, dated 6 August 2026 and effective that day, requires data center project developers to submit an energy plan to the Energy and Environment Cabinet showing how residential ratepayers will be protected, states that the Public Service Commission shall not allow a utility to raise other ratepayers' rates to recover costs caused by a data center, and directs the Cabinet to deny permitting applications where a data center would negatively impact air quality, water or other natural resources.

Read the sourced record · Primary source

Enacted legislation or regulation

EKPC Data Center Power Tariff (Rate DCP) approved

In effect · East Kentucky Power Cooperative owner-member service territories, Kentucky · State

Effective: 30 October 2025

Issuing authority: Kentucky Public Service Commission

On 30 October 2025 the Kentucky Public Service Commission approved, with modifications, East Kentucky Power Cooperative's Data Center Power Tariff (Rate DCP) for service on and after the order date.

Read the sourced record · Primary source

Incentive or explicitly supportive policy

Data center equipment sales-tax exemption

In effect · Kentucky · State

Effective: 15 July 2024

Issuing authority: Kentucky General Assembly

KRS 139.499 exempts specified data center equipment from Kentucky sales and use tax when the purchaser is a preliminarily approved company or an approved company acting under its memorandum of agreement.

Read the sourced record · Primary source

Pending or nonbinding 1 record

Adopted measures with unverified effect, adopted future measures, open proceedings, proposals, drafts and nonbinding context stay separate from current rules.

History 5 records

Expired, repealed, vetoed, failed, blocked, superseded and completed measures remain visible without being presented as current.

Legislation introduced (any outcome)

HB 544 (2026): Kentucky Ratepayer Protection Act for 100 MW+ data centers

Did not pass · Kentucky · State

Ended: 15 April 2026

Issuing authority: Kentucky General Assembly

Kentucky HB 544 of 2026 would have barred a retail electric supplier from serving a data center customer with more than 100 megawatts of aggregated contract capacity unless the Public Service Commission had approved a tariff or contract with minimum requirements.

Read the sourced record · Primary source

Federal and multistate

Federal and multistate instruments that cover all or part of Kentucky

These federal, reliability-organization and multistate grid or utility instruments are stored once and listed for every jurisdiction they name. They do not add to the record count, in-effect total or map shading for Kentucky. Territorial coverage does not establish that an instrument applies to any particular site, utility or project.

Reporting or resource-use requirement · Listed coverage: part of Kentucky

PJM: Large Load definition and registry accepted by FERC; capacity and curtailment rules rejected (ER26-3515)

In effect · PJM region (multistate) · Regional grid

Effective: 12 October 2026

Issuing authority: Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

On 9 October 2026 the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission accepted, effective 12 October 2026, PJM's definition of a Large Load at a cumulative peak of 50 MW and a Large Load Registry that requires load-serving entities to report on the Large Loads they serve, which the order says covers all such loads regardless of in-service date.

Read the sourced record · Primary source

Open the Kentucky policy comparison

Review dates: the 16 Kentucky records were last checked 23 September 2026 to 3 November 2026. 2 scheduled reviews are overdue as of the tracker date 3 November 2026: Big Rivers/Kenergy service agreement for the TeraWulf Hawesville data center approved, Executive Order 2026-494: data center commitments (last checked 23 September 2026, review due 23 October 2026). Overdue means not re-read yet, not changed. No single record, and not this list, establishes complete statewide policy coverage.