campus · KY · last checked 13 September 2026

Paducah Site AI/HPC Innovation Campus

Lifecycle label: proposed; effective date not established Evidence: Independently source-linked Reuse: Reference only

Facts at a glance

Record ID
brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky
Record type
campus
Evidence confidence
high
DataCenterData’s confidence in this record’s sourced fields, not in the project
Developer
Brookfield
Operator
Brookfield
Owner
Owner of record not established
Tenant
Not named in the cited records
Capacity
1.8 GW Company-announced design · campus scope
DOE describes a new 1.8 GW AI/HPC campus but does not label the figure critical IT load, gross facility load, approved utility service, measured load or current consumption. It is retained only as an announced campus design.
Location
KY
Approximate location — The announcement limits the location to portions of DOE's Paducah Site in western Kentucky. The federal site's proper name is not converted into a city, street address, county, parcel or coordinate.
Physical scale
Unknown. The announcement provides no data-center building count, floor area, site acreage or parcel boundary. The announced investment and job estimates are not physical scale.

What the sources support

The U.S. Department of Energy's July 29, 2026 announcement establishes a partnership and says Brookfield was selected to develop and operate a data center campus on portions of the Paducah Site. It does not say campus construction started, and the power-service agreement remained subject to Kentucky Public Service Commission approval. The expected 2031 completion is a forecast.

Definitions: record units · roles · capacity boundaries · lifecycle stages.

What remains unknown

Sources

Sourced classifications

Only values a cited source states for this site are shown; every other dimension is unknown. These are not national shares or rankings.

  • Workload: AI or high-performance computing campus scope · official source · moderate confidence
    “NextEra Energy plans to develop 2 gigawatts (GW) of new grid-connected natural gas-fired generation, upgrade existing transmission infrastructure, and deploy up to 2.6 GW of battery energy storage to support a new 1.8 GW artificial intelligence and high-performance computing (HPC) innovation campus.” — Energy Department Announces Partnership to Expand Reliable, Affordable Energy Access and Power America's AI Future in Western Kentucky, Article body, third paragraph ('At or near the Paducah campus…'), retrieved 24 September 2026
    Not established: That any AI/HPC workload runs today (construction expected to complete 2031); tenants; that the 1.8 GW design is built.
  • Power source: Utility grid service campus scope · official source · moderate confidence
    “Jackson Purchase Energy Cooperative will provide retail electric service” — Energy Department Announces Partnership to Expand Reliable, Affordable Energy Access and Power America's AI Future in Western Kentucky, Article body, paragraph beginning 'in November 2025, Brookfield was selected', retrieved 24 September 2026
    Not established: Whether the NextEra gas and battery resources are on the campus or behind the meter ('at or near', 'grid-connected'); approval; energization.
  • Power counterparty: Jackson Purchase Energy Cooperative — Serving utility (agreement planned) campus scope · official source · moderate confidence
    “Big Rivers Electric Power Corporation will provide wholesale electric service, Jackson Purchase Energy Cooperative will provide retail electric service, and Paducah Power System will serve as a community partner.” — Energy Department Announces Partnership to Expand Reliable, Affordable Energy Access and Power America's AI Future in Western Kentucky, Article body, paragraph beginning 'in November 2025, Brookfield was selected', retrieved 24 September 2026
    Not established: Kentucky PSC approval (the next sentence says the power service agreement remains subject to approval by the Kentucky Public Service Commission); contracted or delivered MW; energization.

Record history

Record history · 29 July 2026 · DataCenterData review

brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky → Record

Why DOE announced the Paducah partnership and participant selections; the power-service agreement remained subject to Kentucky PSC approval.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

DataCenterData record added · 13 September 2026 · DataCenterData review

brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky → Publication

Why Added as one proposed campus; the 1.8 GW remains an announced design figure and separate generation and storage figures were excluded.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky

Campus · Brookfield. Independently reviewed record. Values are shown with their recorded basis.

Location and precision

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Roles

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Lifecycle

  • Recorded status: proposed

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Power capacity

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Data + actions

Permanent link for citing this record →

Suggest a correction → Record ID brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky and the page are prefilled. Accepted material corrections appear on Changes.

Facility evidence across sources

Identity

Facility ID
dcd-fac-002458 (public id fac-002458)
Unit
campus
Name source
Paducah Site AI/HPC Innovation Campus · DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky
Evidence tier
reviewed

Other names

Operators and presences

1 statement(s) naming an operator or presence at this site unit, one row per source. A building with several tenants is one facility with several presence rows.

Operator of record (reviewed): Brookfield.

Operator as statedRoleUnitStated byDate
Brookfield
Family: Brookfield
owner or operator (reviewed)campusDataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky

Status by layer

LayerValueDateSource
Reviewed (DCD) · verified recordproposed
Status basis: The U.S. Department of Energy's July 29, 2026 announcement establishes a partnership and says Brookfield was selected to develop and operate a data center campus on portions of the Paducah Site. It does not say campus construction started, and the power-service agreement remained subject to Kentucky Public Service Commission approval. The expected 2031 completion is a forecast.
Latest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky

Capacity by kind

Each row is one kind of figure from one source. Utility, generation, design, critical IT and floor-area figures measure different things; they are never summed or totalled.

KindValue and evidenceScope and timingDateSource
Company design capacity (MW)1800 MW
Reviewed (DCD)

reviewed record

campusLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky

Power and cooling on record

Records are grouped by system and may describe requests or plans. A highlighted group does not prove every named component is installed or operating. Labels name the source, not a confidence rating. A part with no record here may still exist. Each part links to how it works.

  1. 1 Grid connection and substation No record found yet
  2. 2 Transformers and switchgear No record found yet
  3. 3 Backup generators No record found yet
  4. 4 Data halls and servers Reviewed record

    Based on: Company design capacity (reviewed) · See the evidence

  5. 5 Cooling inside the building No record found yet
  6. 6 Heat out No record found yet
  7. 7 Water in and out No record found yet

Location

State
KY

Coordinates not published; precision is unknown-level.

Address as published by DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky. No member source publishes a street address for this facility.

Facts

Quote-bound facts: each shows the value, the source address, the capture hash (first 12 characters; the full SHA-256 is in the page markup) and the capture date. The source's exact wording stays in the capture record and is not republished here; the capture hash binds it.

No quote-bound fact with a hashed capture is recorded for this facility.

Other values by layer

FieldValueLayer and basisDateSource
developerBrookfieldReviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky
classification.workloadai_hpcReviewed (DCD) · reviewed classificationLatest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky
classification.power counterpartyJackson Purchase Energy Cooperative — Serving utility (agreement planned)Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed classificationLatest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky
classification.power sourcegrid_utility_serviceReviewed (DCD) · reviewed classificationLatest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-ky

Sources for the reviewed record

These citations belong to the linked reviewed records. They do not establish every figure or present-day operating status. Publication and retrieval dates are shown separately; an unstated date remains unknown.

Details still needed

34 fields in the shared profile are not established for this record. Each states why; missing information does not mean zero or absence.

  • Street address · not recorded for this field in the register
  • City · not recorded for this field in the register
  • County · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Postal code · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Metropolitan area · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Coordinates · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Map location precision · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Provider-reported status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Operator-stated status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Status in public records · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Critical IT capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Requested utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Reported total power (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Generation capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Provider-reported capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Data hall or IT floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Site area · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Cooling redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • UPS redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Backup generator redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Tier design rating · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Cooling technology · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Opening year or expected opening year · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Network presence · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Service · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Certification or compliance claims · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Rack density · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Space or power availability · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Specifications and facility pages · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Business contact · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Public registration · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Fact supported by a source quotation · not recorded for this field in the register

Jurisdiction and policy actions

Policy actions are matched to this facility by jurisdiction (state, county, municipality or utility), never by the facility's name. A match means the action covers the place, not that it names or affects this facility.

Updates, corrections and review

Last checked

How often we re-check

We plan to re-check this facility every 90 days because it has a reviewed record whose status may still change. Next check due . The last-checked date is the newest evidence date among this facility's sources. Dates are measured against the newest input date, , not the day this page was built.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

How complete the facility register is

Rights for this record

For each populated field, the origin of the value shown on this page and the terms it carries. Values that are not redistributable may be read and cited here but are not relicensed.

FieldSupplied byOriginLicenseAttributionRedistributable
current_nameDataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
aliases[0]DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.stateDataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
presences[0]DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
operator_of_recordDataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
status_by_layer[0]DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
lifecycle_statusDataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
status_basisDataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[0]DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[1]DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[2]DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[3]DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[4]DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
reviewed_unknown_statements[0]DataCenterData reviewed record brookfield-paducah-site-ai-campus-kydcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano