Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000939

Meta Kansas City Northland

source-reported operational

Meta

Northwest corner of I-435 and US Highway 169, Kansas City, MO · Kansas City · Clay County · Missouri

Reported planned 750 MWSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Meta Kansas City Northland.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Meta
Address and locality
Northwest corner of I-435 and US Highway 169, Kansas City, MO · Kansas City · Clay County · Missouri
Official metro area
Kansas City, MO-KS
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 750 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000939

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
EvergyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
MixedProvider label.
Land area
882 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$1 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
100 permanent · 1,500 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: supportedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
mixed useCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
March 2022Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Chapter 100 industrial development bonds / PILOT — authorization ceiling $8.2B (a financing authorization, NOT an abatement value; the abatement is the PILOT relief the leaseback structure creates, which the cited sources do not itemize) · Kansas City, MO · 2021 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. 100% electricity matched with renewable energy; LEED Gold certified; stormwater reuse saved 1M+ gallons of potable water during construction

Community. Meta directed more than $1M to local schools and nonprofits since 2022; no reported community opposition; LEED Gold certified campus

What the source record says

Located at Golden Plains Technology Park (Diode Ventures development), 801 NW 128th Street, at the northwest corner of I-435 and US-169. Three data center buildings + warehouse, 1.4M sq ft total. Meta's first Missouri data center. Coordinates are approximate for the Golden Plains Technology Park area.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2022-03 · source-reported proposed

    Meta announces $800M+ data center campus at Golden Plains Technology Park (801 NW 128th St), northwest corner of I-435 and US-169 in KC Northland

    Open cited source →

  2. 2022 · source-reported under construction

    Construction begins; averaged 1,500 skilled trade workers at peak

  3. 2025-08 · source-reported operational

    Data center officially opens August 20, 2025; servers live and serving traffic

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID meta-kansas-city-northland-mo. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000939

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): mixed use

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Northwest corner of I-435 and US Highway 169, Kansas City, MO, Kansas City, MO · Clay (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Meta

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: March 2022

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2022-03 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2022 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-08 · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 882 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 750 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Evergy

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Mixed

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $1 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 100 permanent · 1,500 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: supported

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Chapter 100 industrial development bonds / PILOT — authorization ceiling $8.2B (a financing authorization, NOT an abatement value; the abatement is the PILOT relief the leaseback structure creates, which the cited sources do not itemize) · Kansas City, MO · 2021

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-10

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →