This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Google Project Mica.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Address and locality
- Kansas City · Clay County · Missouri
- Official metro area
- Kansas City, MO-KS
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 700 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 9 October 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000736
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Evergy
- Power source
- Grid
- Land area
- 493 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $10 billion
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
- Announced
- February 2026
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Port KC taxable revenue bond authorization — ceiling $10B (a financing authorization, NOT an abatement value: the city takes title so the property becomes tax-exempt, and the resulting relief is the separate property-tax abatement itemized below) · Kansas City, MO · 2025 Open cited source →
- 25-year 75% property tax abatement and 100% local/state sales tax exemption on construction materials · Missouri / City of Smithville · 2025 Open cited source →
Provider notes
Energy. Google is Evergy's first customer under its Large Load Power Tariff (approved Nov 2025 by Missouri PSC and Kansas CC); up to ~700 MW to be supplied from Nashua substation and onsite substations at full campus buildout
What the source record says
Five hyperscale data center buildings on 493 acres, northeast of I-435 and US-169 in KC Northland (near Smithville, Clay County). Google committed $1.5M to Smithville School District and $250K to Northland Career Center. Coordinates mark the I-435/US-169 interchange; Port KC places the ~500-acre campus at its northeast corner.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2024 · source-reported proposed
Google acquires ~493 acres in KC Northland; site originally known as Rocky Branch Creek Technology Park (formerly a QTS/Diode Ventures plan)
- 2025-07 · source-reported permitted
City of Smithville and Port KC approve $10B campus; Google still unconfirmed publicly at this stage
- 2026-02 · source-reported under construction
Google confirms Project Mica; construction already underway; first building expected within 18–24 months
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- $10B, 500-acre Google campus gets stamp of approval near Smithville · KCTV5
- Google announces construction underway for second data center campus in Kansas City · KSHB
- Google confirms new data center development in Kansas City's Northland · KCTV5
- Google confirms Project Mica, a $10 billion data center campus in Kansas City · Construction Review Online
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-project-mica-kc-northland-mo. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000736
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Kansas City, MO · Clay (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Google
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: February 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2024 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2025-07 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2026-02 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 493 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 700 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Evergy
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $10 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: Port KC taxable revenue bond authorization — ceiling $10B (a financing authorization, NOT an abatement value: the city takes title so the property becomes tax-exempt, and the resulting relief is the separate property-tax abatement itemized below) · Kansas City, MO · 2025
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: 25-year 75% property tax abatement and 100% local/state sales tax exemption on construction materials · Missouri / City of Smithville · 2025
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-10-09
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.