Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001865

Google Kansas City Data Center (Hunt Midwest Business Center)

source-reported under construction

Google

Kansas City · Clay County · Missouri

Capacity not statedSource updated 9 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Google Kansas City Data Center (Hunt Midwest Business Center).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Google
Address and locality
Kansas City · Clay County · Missouri
Official metro area
Kansas City, MO-KS
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
9 October 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001865

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
EvergyUtility as named by the provider.
Announced investment
$1 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced
March 2024Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. KSHB (2024) says the site will be powered with 400 MW of carbon-free solar from the Beavertail Solar farm under a power purchase agreement with Ranger Power and D. E. Shaw Renewable Investments; Google's Kansas City page also cites 400 MW of new-to-the-grid carbon-free capacity. The 400 MW is contracted supply, not the campus load.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Power source: The structured supply label and changed PPA description do not establish the same supply scope; withheld pending reconciliation.

What the source record says

Google's first Kansas City-area campus, in Hunt Midwest Business Center, Northland, Clay County, announced by Hunt Midwest on 20 March 2024 as a new $1 billion Google data center. Distinct from google-project-mica-kc-northland-mo (Project Mica, the second campus); the Kansas City Star reports Google's Evergy agreement covers energy costs for 'both' campuses, and Google's own Kansas City page lists two new data centers, status 'In development'. Location: the 2023 Baxtel report on Google's planning applications (filed under the alias Shalerock LLC) places the work between NE Parvin Road and N Arlington Avenue, and the land comprises 78.9 acres bought in 2019 plus 236.4 acres bought in December 2021 (315.3 acres in total). The pin is the OpenStreetMap node where NE Parvin Road meets N Arlington Avenue (39.17256, -94.46443); the campus lies in the surrounding Hunt Midwest land, so it is approximate. A third-party Baxtel listing gives 9900 NE Parvin Rd, which Nominatim and the Census geocoder could not resolve to a building, so it is not used; a 2019 Baxtel report separately describes the 78-acre parcel as the former AK Steel site near MO-210 and N Arlington Avenue. Code name 'Project Shale': appears in two 2019 reports (Institutional Real Estate, Inc. and Baxtel, both relaying local coverage of the 22 July 2019 Port KC board meeting) for the 78-acre Hunt Midwest parcel. The 2023 Baxtel report ties the same 78.9-acre 2019 purchase to Shalerock LLC, and Shalerock/Shale is consistent, but no 2024-2026 source fetched uses 'Project Shale' for the $1 billion campus, so the identification is an inference from the shared site, not a stated one (hence confidence 'reported'). Status: only Google's 2026 statement (via the Kansas City Star) is dated and says 'under construction'; Google's own page says 'In development'. Baxtel's listing says 'Operational' with year built 2025, which conflicts and is not relied on; no source fetched reports the campus opening. A 2024 announcement reportedly expected the first data center online in 2025 (not independently confirmed here). Investment: $1 billion announced March 2024 (the 2019 report cited $600 million). Baxtel lists up to 1.435 million sq ft in four phases plus ancillary buildings on 315 acres, which matches the 2023 planning filing as reported, and Evergy as utility; no per-building size or count is stated. No facility MW load is stated in any source fetched; the 400 MW is new carbon-free generation (Beavertail Solar) contracted to offset demand, not the campus load.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2019-07 · source-reported proposed

    Port KC board resolution authorizing bonds for a tentative $600 million Google data center on a 78-acre site within Hunt Midwest Business Center, reported under the code name Project Shale

    Open cited source →

  2. 2024 · source-reported under construction

    Google's regional head of data center public affairs said Google broke ground on its first Missouri data center campus in 2024 and that it is still under construction (reported Feb 2026)

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1+reviewed-2610e0556b3d, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-hunt-midwest-kc-northland-mo. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labelled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001865

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Kansas City, MO · Clay (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Google

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: March 2024

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2019-07 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2024 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Evergy

    Utility as named by the provider.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $1 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-09

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →