Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000945

Meta Montgomery Data Center

source-reported under construction

Meta

Montgomery · Montgomery County · Alabama

Capacity not statedSource updated 9 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Meta Montgomery Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Meta
Address and locality
Montgomery · Montgomery County · Alabama
Official metro area
Montgomery, AL
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
9 September 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000945

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Power source
SolarProvider label.
Announced investment
$1.5 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
100 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: supportedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
May 2024Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. 100% renewable energy commitment; LEED Gold certification targeted; net zero emissions goal

Community. Governor Ivey and city officials active supporters. Meta donated to Montgomery Public Schools for STEM/robotics programs and co-sponsored CampIT 2025 for 300 students.

What the source record says

Located off I-65 in southern Montgomery County across from Hyundai Motor Manufacturing Alabama (HMMA) plant (Hope Hull area, approximately I-65 Exit 164). Coordinates corrected to approximate HMMA corridor (~32.185 N, ~86.273 W); original record used central Montgomery city coordinates (32.362, -86.301) which are approximately 13 miles north of the Hyundai plant area. Originally announced as $800M, expanded September 2025 to $1.5B with 1.3M sq ft footprint. Expected online end of 2026. Meta's 24th global data hub and 20th in the US. CONFIRMED ABSENCE, STATEWIDE - explains why subsidies is empty on all seven Alabama records, not just this one. Alabama's Data Processing Center incentive program has no per-company reporting requirement, and neither the state nor its agencies publish which data center operators receive abatements or in what amount. Meta is named as a beneficiary of the sales-tax exemption but no dollar figure attaches to it. This is a DISCLOSURE GAP, not a GASB 77 audited negative: I did not obtain any municipal ACFR tax-abatement note this run, so it does not establish that a particular city has no agreement with a particular operator. Any future subsidies entry for an Alabama site will most likely have to come from a city or county resolution rather than from a state source.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2024-05 · source-reported proposed

    Governor Ivey announces Meta's $800M, 715,000 sq ft AI-optimized data center off I-65 in Montgomery

    Open cited source →

  2. 2024-05 · source-reported under construction

    Phase 1 groundbreaking; 1,000+ construction workers at peak

  3. 2025-09 · source-reported under construction

    Meta expands campus to 1.3M sq ft with two additional buildings; total investment grows to $1.5B

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID meta-montgomery-al. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000945

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Montgomery, AL (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Meta

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: May 2024

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2024-05 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2024-05 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-09 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Power source: Solar

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $1.5 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 100 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: supported

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-09

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →