Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000068

Amazon Project Rainier

source-reported operational

Amazon Web Services

New Carlisle · St. Joseph County · Indiana

Reported planned 2,200 MWReported operational 590 MWSource updated 16 August 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Amazon Project Rainier.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Amazon Web Services
Address and locality
New Carlisle · St. Joseph County · Indiana
Official metro area
South Bend-Mishawaka, IN-MI
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Operational: 590 MW; Planned: 2,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
16 August 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000068

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Indiana Michigan Power (AEP)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
AirProvider label.
Land area
1,200 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$11 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
400 permanent · 600 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
25 April 2024Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • 10-year 50% real property tax abatement (three parcels) · St. Joseph County, Indiana · 2024 Open cited source →
  • 85% personal property tax exemption on computing equipment (35-year term) · St. Joseph County, Indiana · 2024 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Served by Indiana Michigan Power, an AEP subsidiary. Amazon states it matches consumption with 100% renewable energy; local grid mix is largely nuclear and coal. AEP is acquiring a natural gas plant in Ohio to help serve the load via the grid.

Water. Outside-air (free) cooling for roughly 98% of operating hours, running essentially chiller-free. 1.58 MGD is the Phase 1 permitted cooling-water discharge cap (average discharge ~0.8 MGD). Full-campus water use is not publicly disclosed by AWS; residents have raised aquifer-withdrawal concerns.

Community. IDEM cited Amazon and its contractor for unauthorized wetland impacts and halted work in affected areas pending Section 401 water-quality recertification; a April 2025 public hearing drew 100+ residents opposing a pending wetland-fill permit near Bendix Woods County Park, with concerns over aquifer depletion and utility rates. Amazon separately committed a ~$143M community enhancement agreement to St. Joseph County.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Reported water use: The source note identifies 1.58 million gallons per day as the Phase 1 permitted cooling-water discharge cap, not water use, and says full-campus water use is not publicly disclosed.
Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2024-04-25 · source-reported proposed

    Gov. Holcomb announced $11B AWS data center campus; 1,200-acre site

    Open cited source →

  2. 2024-09 · source-reported under construction

    Construction began; seven of 32 planned buildings completed within 7 months

    Open cited source →

  3. 2025-10 · source-reported operational

    Phase 1 online with ~500,000 Trainium2 chips; primary compute for Anthropic's Claude models; 18 buildings operational

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID amazon-project-rainier-new-carlisle-in. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

Reviewed match

This row describes the same facility or project as AWS — New Carlisle. These records refer to the AWS data center campus at New Carlisle in St. Joseph County, Indiana. No engineering value, current operating status, capacity total or certification is transferred between layers. Project Rainier spans several sites, so this row is not the whole of Project Rainier. Completion of the New Carlisle buildout is not established.

The licensed row remains a separate discovery record with its own source-reported values.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000068

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • New Carlisle, IN · St. Joseph (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: Amazon Web Services

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 25 April 2024

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2024-04-25 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2024-09 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-10 · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 1,200 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Operational: 590 MW; Planned: 2,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Indiana Michigan Power (AEP)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Air

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $11 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 400 permanent · 600 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: 10-year 50% real property tax abatement (three parcels) · St. Joseph County, Indiana · 2024

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Incentive reported by the source: 85% personal property tax exemption on computing equipment (35-year term) · St. Joseph County, Indiana · 2024

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-08-16

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →