Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000127

Amazon Boardman Exascale Data Center Campus

source-reported proposed

Amazon Web Services

Boardman · Morrow County · Oregon

Reported planned 1,000 MWSource updated 12 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Amazon Boardman Exascale Data Center Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Amazon Web Services
Address and locality
Boardman · Morrow County · Oregon
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
12 October 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000127

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
PacifiCorp (Pacific Power)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
HydroProvider label.
Cooling
HybridProvider label.
Land area
1,300 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
560 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
March 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. PacifiCorp (Pacific Power) is the local retail utility in Morrow County; AWS filed power complaints against PacifiCorp in November 2025 regarding insufficient capacity. BPA Columbia River hydroelectric generation underlies the Oregon grid and is a major component of what PacifiCorp delivers. AWS claims 95% renewable sourcing in Oregon. AWS also holds wind PPA (Leaning Juniper IIA, 98.4 MW) in same county.

Water. Reflects Amazon's documented Oregon cooling practice — primarily free-air cooling with evaporative assist, with up to ~96% of cooling water returned to local farmers. Planning documents model roughly 35 million gallons/year for the full 1 GW campus (a projection). The specific cooling design for this proposed campus is not confirmed.

Community. Morrow County Planning Commission approved Amazon's 'PDX154' land-use application (816,000 sq ft / 4 buildings, part of the broader campus) on March 31, 2026 with conditions attached (stormwater/wastewater mitigation, airport-lighting restrictions).

What the source record says

Amazon confirmed the land purchase ($37M per Morrow County property records, confirmed by multiple news sources) but stated development plans are not final. Planning documents submitted to Morrow County describe a 1 GW exascale campus with 20 buildings across 4 million sq ft; Johnson Economics estimated $8B-$12B total investment. Land previously owned by Threemile Canyon Farms dairy. Distinct from Amazon's existing ~800 acres of operating/under-construction OR facilities. Lincoln Chronicle source URL returned 403 on fetch — primary claim supported by DCD source. energy.utility corrected from 'Bonneville Power Administration' (wholesale) to 'PacifiCorp (Pacific Power)' (retail utility). Coordinates are Boardman city centroid; exact site not publicly confirmed. Johnson Economics' economic-impact analysis (Morrow County Planning Commission, Jan 2025) models the full 1 GW campus at roughly $8 billion investment (potential range $7-12 billion), about 6,400 construction FTE over an eight-year build (~800/year) and about 560 operations FTE, assuming an Oregon Strategic Investment Program (SIP) property-tax abatement — modeled projections for a still-proposed campus, not firm commitments.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-03 · source-reported proposed

    Amazon purchased 1,300 acres from Threemile Canyon Farms dairy for $37M near Boardman. Planning documents indicate 20 buildings, 4 million sq ft, 1 GW capacity. Amazon stated development plans not final.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-boardman-morrow-county-or. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000127

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Boardman, OR · Morrow (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Amazon Web Services

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: March 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-03 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 1,300 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: PacifiCorp (Pacific Power)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Hydro

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Hybrid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 560 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-12

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →