project · CA · last checked 3 November 2026

Gilroy Data Center

Lifecycle label: construction; effective date not established Evidence: Independently source-linked Reuse: Reference only

Facts at a glance

Record ID
gilroy-data-center
Record type
project
Evidence confidence
high
DataCenterData’s confidence in this record’s sourced fields, not in the project
Developer
Not named in the cited records
Operator
Not named in the cited records
Owner
Owner of record not established
Tenant
Not named in the cited records
Capacity
49 MW Utility request · phase scope
City-stated Phase I connection requirement to PG&E; not critical IT capacity, campus design capacity or measured load.
Location
8050 Camino Arroyo, Gilroy, CA
County: Santa Clara County
Exact location — City project page identifies APN 841-69-044. No parcel geometry or building centroid is published here.
Physical scale
A 56-acre site with two planned data-center buildings and one security building, about 438,500 square feet in total. Phase I is one planned approximately 218,000-square-foot data-center building; planned buildings are not operating buildings.

What the sources support

As captured on 3 November 2026, the City of Gilroy lists project AS 20-23 as under construction and records entitlement approval on July 3, 2025, a grading and underground-utility permit on December 11, 2025, and a building permit on March 19, 2026. The city identifies Amazon Web Services as the applicant; applicant does not by itself establish developer, owner or operator.

Definitions: record units · roles · capacity boundaries · lifecycle stages.

What remains unknown

Sources

Related claims

Connected records

Each connection below is a stored, reviewed relationship with its own basis. It does not change this record’s status.

Metro area: San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA by the record’s county in the Census 2023 delineation

Record history

Record history · 3 July 2025 · DataCenterData review

gilroy-data-center → Record

Why City records entitlement approval for Site and Architectural Application AS 20-23.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Record history · 18 August 2025 · DataCenterData review

gilroy-data-center → Record

Why City records withdrawal of an appeal filed July 21, 2025.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Record history · 11 December 2025 · DataCenterData review

gilroy-data-center → Record

Why City records issuance of a grading and underground-utility permit.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Record history · 19 March 2026 · DataCenterData review

gilroy-data-center → Record

Why City records issuance of a building permit.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

DataCenterData record added · 13 September 2026 · DataCenterData review

gilroy-data-center → Publication

Why Added as a bounded construction-stage project after independent review of the City of Gilroy source.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Record history · 14 September 2026 · DataCenterData review

gilroy-data-center → Record

Why City records that the Council adopted a temporary moratorium on new data center applications and says it does not affect the previously approved AWS project.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Record history · 27 October 2026 · DataCenterData review

gilroy-data-center → Physical scale

Field Physical scale

Why Restored the City's approximate qualifier for the planned Phase I building area: approximately 218,000 square feet. This corrects DCD's wording; it does not report a change to the project or an operating measurement.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Record history · 3 November 2026 · DataCenterData review

gilroy-data-center → Review

Field Review

Why Rechecked the City's project page. Its water and revenue answers moved to the City's Data Center General Q&A page; the permit dates and status stated here remain on the project page. This is a review date, not a construction date.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Correction · 27 October 2026 · DataCenterData review

gilroy-data-center → Physical scale

Field Physical scale

To Restored the City's approximate qualifier for the planned Phase I building area: approximately 218,000 square feet. This corrects DCD's wording; it does not report a change to the project or an operating measurement.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Reviewed record gilroy-data-center

Project. Independently reviewed record. Values are shown with their recorded basis.

Location and precision

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Lifecycle

  • Recorded status: construction

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Power capacity

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Not yet recorded here: Roles · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Data + actions

Permanent link for citing this record →

Suggest a correction → Record ID gilroy-data-center and the page are prefilled. Accepted material corrections appear on Changes.

Facility evidence across sources

Identity

Facility ID
dcd-fac-000252 (public id fac-000252)
Unit
site (campus or building not established)
Name source
Gilroy Data Center · DataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-center
Evidence tier
reviewed

Other names

Operators and presences

1 statement(s) naming an operator or presence at this site unit, one row per source. A building with several tenants is one facility with several presence rows.

No operator of record: no reviewed DataCenterData record names one. Each row says only what its source stated.

Operator as statedRoleUnitStated byDate
Amazon Web Services
Family: Amazon Web Services
named by this source (role not established)facilityCompute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064

Status by layer

LayerValueDateSource
Reviewed (DCD) · verified recordconstruction
Status basis: As captured on 3 November 2026, the City of Gilroy lists project AS 20-23 as under construction and records entitlement approval on July 3, 2025, a grading and underground-utility permit on December 11, 2025, and a building permit on March 19, 2026. The city identifies Amazon Web Services as the applicant; applicant does not by itself establish developer, owner or operator.
Latest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-center
Provider-reported (Compute Atlas)provider-reported: under constructionProvider row updated
Provider-reported announcement date: July 2025
Provider dates do not establish when this status began or whether it remains current.
Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064

Layers disagree; not reconciled. Each value is what that layer states; DataCenterData does not pick one.

Capacity by kind

Each row is one kind of figure from one source. Utility, generation, design, critical IT and floor-area figures measure different things; they are never summed or totalled.

KindValue and evidenceScope and timingDateSource
Utility request (MW)49 MW
Reviewed (DCD)

reviewed record

phaseLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-center
Provider-reported capacityPlanned: 98 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
provider-reported

compute atlas public projection

scope not statedProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064
Utility (provider note)Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
provider-reported

compute atlas public projection · Utility as named by the provider.

scope not statedProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064
Land area (provider note)56 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
provider-reported

compute atlas public projection

scope not statedProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064

Power and cooling on record

Records are grouped by system and may describe requests or plans. A highlighted group does not prove every named component is installed or operating. Labels name the source, not a confidence rating. A part with no record here may still exist. Each part links to how it works.

  1. 1 Grid connection and substation Reviewed record

    Based on: Utility request (reviewed) · See the evidence

  2. 2 Transformers and switchgear No record found yet
  3. 3 Backup generators No record found yet
  4. 4 Data halls and servers No record found yet
  5. 5 Cooling inside the building No record found yet
  6. 6 Heat out No record found yet
  7. 7 Water in and out Reported by a licensed directory

    Based on: Reported water use (licensed directory) · See the evidence

Location

Street
8050 Camino Arroyo
City
Gilroy
County
Santa Clara
State
CA
Postal code
95020
Metro (CBSA)
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA 41940

Coordinates 36.997, -121.541 · precision exact · Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064

Address as published by DataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-center.

Facts

Quote-bound facts: each shows the value, the source address, the capture hash (first 12 characters; the full SHA-256 is in the page markup) and the capture date. The source's exact wording stays in the capture record and is not republished here; the capture hash binds it.

No quote-bound fact with a hashed capture is recorded for this facility.

Other values by layer

FieldValueLayer and basisDateSource
physical scaleA 56-acre site with two planned data-center buildings and one security building, about 438,500 square feet in total. Phase I is one planned approximately 218,000-square-foot data-center building; planned buildings are not operating buildings.Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-center
reported.energy.sourceGrid
Provider label.
provider-reported · compute atlas public projectionProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064
reported.water.cooling typeHybrid
Provider label.
provider-reported · compute atlas public projectionProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064
reported.water.reported mgd0.016 million gallons per day (source-reported)
Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
provider-reported · compute atlas public projectionProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064
reported.investment usd$2 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
provider-reported · compute atlas public projectionProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064
reported.community.statusProvider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
provider-reported · compute atlas public projectionProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064
reported.ai classificationmixed use
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
provider-reported · compute atlas public projectionProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064
reported.announced dateJuly 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
provider-reported · compute atlas public projectionProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064
facility typedata_centerprovider-reported · compute atlas public projectionProvider row updated Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064

Sources for the reviewed record

These citations belong to the linked reviewed records. They do not establish every figure or present-day operating status. Publication and retrieval dates are shown separately; an unstated date remains unknown.

Details still needed

22 fields in the shared profile are not established for this record. Each states why; missing information does not mean zero or absence.

  • Operator-stated status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Status in public records · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Critical IT capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Reported total power (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Generation capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Company-announced design capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Data hall or IT floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Cooling redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • UPS redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Backup generator redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Tier design rating · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Opening year or expected opening year · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Network presence · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Service · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Certification or compliance claims · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Rack density · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Space or power availability · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Specifications and facility pages · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Business contact · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Public registration · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Fact supported by a source quotation · not recorded for this field in the register

Jurisdiction and policy actions

Policy actions are matched to this facility by jurisdiction (state, county, municipality or utility), never by the facility's name. A match means the action covers the place, not that it names or affects this facility.

Updates, corrections and review

Last checked

How often we re-check

We plan to re-check this facility every 90 days because it has a reviewed record whose status may still change. Next check due . The last-checked date is the newest evidence date among this facility's sources. Dates are measured against the newest input date, , not the day this page was built.

Corrections

  • · Restored the City's approximate qualifier for the planned Phase I building area: approximately 218,000 square feet. This corrects DCD's wording; it does not report a change to the project or an operating measurement. details

Related claims

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

How complete the facility register is

Rights for this record

For each populated field, the origin of the value shown on this page and the terms it carries. Values that are not redistributable may be read and cited here but are not relicensed.

Values marked Compute Atlas are adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0: Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak. DataCenterData did not independently verify them.

FieldSupplied byOriginLicenseAttributionRedistributable
current_nameDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
aliases[0]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
aliases[1]DataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.streetDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.cityDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.countyDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.postal_codeCompute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
location.street_keyDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.city_keyDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.stateDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.cbsaDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd originalCC-BY-4.0DataCenterDatayes
location.cbsa_nameDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd originalCC-BY-4.0DataCenterDatayes
location.latCompute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
location.lonCompute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
location.source_precisionCompute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
presences[0]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
status_by_layer[0]DataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
status_by_layer[1]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
lifecycle_statusDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
status_basisDataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[0]DataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[1]DataCenterData reviewed record gilroy-data-centerdcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[2]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
layer_values[3]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
layer_values[4]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
layer_values[5]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
layer_values[6]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
layer_values[7]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
layer_values[8]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
layer_values[9]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
layer_values[10]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
layer_values[11]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes
layer_values[12]Compute Atlas licensed discovery row dcd-dir-000064compute atlasCC-BY-4.0Compute-infrastructure data from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiakyes