Kansas index · last changed 5 October 2026

Kansas data centers: what the public record shows.

Selected source-linked records are published below. This is not a complete inventory of Kansas data centers.

9 sourced policy records for Kansas ↓Facility register: 19 records · by county →1 published DataCenterData record · evidence status shown per row12 licensed directory leads · not independently verifiedThese counts overlap and are not added together

Explore Kansas

Map, listings and checked facts.

Start with 12 licensed source leads, then inspect the separate public-evidence layer below. Licensed rows are not independently verified and are not a statewide census.

Kansas map

Reported locations in Kansas

12 licensed rows · 9 source localities · 4 map targets

Open interactive map
Source-reported points; some are approximate. Not parcel boundaries. Exact Approximate or representative Bounded nearby groupA number on a marker is the count of licensed rows it holds.Licensed layer only (Compute Atlas, source data through 14 October 2026). The interactive map lists 21 data-center source listings here across licensed, operator and DataCenterData layers (16 with a map point); 23 with government registry records. Source listings are not distinct sites.2 symbols are offset slightly for readability; thin connectors retain their projected anchors. Open the interactive map for source coordinates.
Browse 4 mapped areas as links
Map sources and method

The state outline is adapted from the U.S. Census Bureau 2025 cartographic boundary file. Facility coordinates are adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Outline and markers use one geographic projection before any explicitly disclosed readability offset. Exact singleton source anchors are never moved. A one-kilometre boundary tolerance prevents the simplified 1:20,000,000 outline from hiding legitimate border-area source points; farther conflicts are disclosed, not clamped. DataCenterData groups source-reported city coordinates only within a bounded map radius; the outline does not validate a facility record. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

12 licensed rows9 reported city labels10 eligible organization labels

Browse all 12 rows below. Licensed rows are not independently verified and remain separate from the checked public-evidence layer.

  1. Beale Infrastructure Gardner Campus

    Beale Infrastructure

    Near the NE corner of 191st Street & South Clare Road, eastern Gardner, KS · Gardner · Johnson County · Kansas

    source-reported proposedCapacity not statedSource updated 4 October 2026approximate location
  2. source-reported under constructionCapacity not statedSource updated 6 July 2026approximate location

Separate layer

Also listed by operators

Sites that operators list on their own websites and that are not rows in the licensed directory above. They are kept apart and never added to the licensed rows.

5 operator-listed sites (mixed units; not added to licensed rows) in Kansas →

1 of these sites has no supported coordinate. The map does not invent a pin or a metro placement for them.

Kansas evidence at a glance

A few checked sites

Selected public evidence, not a statewide census. Each row shows whether it is independently source-linked, attributed, or unresolved; licensed leads remain separate.

Published project / campus
1
Published facility / building
0
Attributed or unresolved rows
0
Licensed directory leads
12 not independently verified
Capacity boundary stated
0 of 1 published DataCenterData rows
Review timing
Audit through 11 September 2026 · next 12 March 2027
Known coverage gap

No public list of SB 98 certifications found; Commerce press releases not swept.

Browse all 12 Kansas licensed leads → · Why these counts differ →

Campuses

1 campus record. Names are as they appear on each record page.

Campuses published for Kansas
Record / rolesStatusCapacity / scalePrimary evidence
Beale Data CenterDeveloper: Mount Sunflower LLC constructioncampus UnknownNo independently supported figureNo MW value appears in the opened City pages. Planned buildings are physical scale, not power capacity. City of De Soto — Beale Data Center →Gov. record

Where the records were checked

Statewide audit pending

A few checked sites

This is not a list of every data center in the state, and the number here is not a count of them. There are almost certainly more.

Statewide coverage is not complete. The records below are sourced; a full statewide count has not been published.

State research audit window ended 11 September 2026. Individual records and claims below show their own evidence dates and may be newer.

Next scheduled coverage review: 12 March 2027.

1 independently source-linked project/campus record; 0 independently source-linked facility/building records; 0 attributed or unresolved rows. These counts use different units and must not be added together.

Source families checked, selected records and remaining gaps

These notes name selected records, say which kinds of public evidence were checked and show what remains missing. They do not add anything to the published counts.

Local evidence by place

Licensed and operator listings, reviewed records, answers and local policy for each place. Listings overlap and are not added; a place without a line here has no published local evidence.

No local evidence answer, reviewed record or local policy record is published for Emporia, Gardner, Kansas City, Lenexa, Overland Park, Parsons, Sharon, Spring Hill. Their listings above are source listings to investigate. No statewide evidence answer is published for Kansas either; statewide rules are under Policy tracker below.

1 Kansas answer is not tied to a published record, so it is not placed here: Kansas answers.

Policy tracker

Kansas policy records

9 sourced records are associated with this state context. They are grouped below as current, pending and nonbinding, and history, and each card shows its relevant date. These are not facility counts and do not cover every locality.

Current 3 records

Recorded as in effect on the dataset date. This does not mean every project in a represented state is restricted or approved.

Enacted legislation or regulation

Qualified data centers excluded from economic development electric rate discounts

In effect · Kansas · State

Effective: 1 July 2025

Issuing authority: Kansas Legislature

Kansas law lets electric public utilities offer Commission-authorized economic development rate discounts to new or expanded industrial and commercial facilities, but a facility that is a qualified data center under the state data center sales tax exemption law is not eligible for that discount.

Read the sourced record · Primary source

Pending or nonbinding 1 record

Adopted measures with unverified effect, adopted future measures, open proceedings, proposals, drafts and nonbinding context stay separate from current rules.

Incentive or explicitly supportive policy

Revenue notice on the data center sales tax exemption

Informational—not binding · Kansas · State

Source document: 3 July 2025

Issuing authority: Kansas Department of Revenue

The Kansas Department of Revenue issued Notice 25-03 on 3 July 2025 to explain how the 2025 qualified data center sales tax exemption works, including the investment and job conditions, certification by the Secretary of Commerce, the Fusion Center Oversight Board review, and project exemption certificates for contractors.

Read the sourced record · Primary source

History 5 records

Expired, repealed, vetoed, failed, blocked, superseded and completed measures remain visible without being presented as current.

Federal and multistate

Federal and multistate instruments that cover all or part of Kansas

These federal, reliability-organization and multistate grid or utility instruments are stored once and listed for every jurisdiction they name. They do not add to the record count, in-effect total or map shading for Kansas. Territorial coverage does not establish that an instrument applies to any particular site, utility or project.

Enacted legislation or regulation · Listed coverage: part of Kansas

Southwest Power Pool: Conditional High Impact Large Load Service accepted by FERC (ER26-1323)

In effect · Southwest Power Pool region (multistate) · Regional grid

Effective: 1 July 2026

Issuing authority: Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

On 5 June 2026 the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission accepted Southwest Power Pool tariff revisions, effective 1 July 2026, that add Conditional High Impact Large Load Service, a non-firm transmission service that can serve a large load such as a data center before long-term firm service is available, for up to seven years and subject to curtailment.

Read the sourced record · Primary source

Enacted legislation or regulation · Listed coverage: part of Kansas

Southwest Power Pool: High Impact Large Load study processes accepted by FERC (ER26-247)

In effect · Southwest Power Pool region (multistate) · Regional grid

Effective: 15 January 2026

Issuing authority: Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

On 14 January 2026 the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission accepted Southwest Power Pool tariff revisions, effective 15 January 2026, that add a High Impact Large Load study process and a generation assessment for those loads.

Read the sourced record · Primary source

Open the Kansas policy comparison

Review dates: the 9 Kansas records were last checked 23 September 2026 to 3 November 2026. 1 scheduled review is overdue as of the tracker date 3 November 2026: Revenue notice on the data center sales tax exemption (last checked 23 September 2026, review due 23 October 2026). Overdue means not re-read yet, not changed. No single record, and not this list, establishes complete statewide policy coverage.