Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000180

Beale Project Pilot (De Soto)

source-reported under construction

Beale Infrastructure

De Soto · Johnson County · Kansas

Capacity not statedSource updated 6 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Beale Project Pilot (De Soto).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Beale Infrastructure
Address and locality
De Soto · Johnson County · Kansas
Official metro area
Kansas City, MO-KS
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
6 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000180

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
EvergyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedThe provider reports water information but no cooling type.
Land area
290 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$3.1 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
100 permanent · 500 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
August 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Kansas Senate Bill 98 — 20-year sales tax exemption on construction materials and equipment · Kansas · 2025 Open cited source →
  • De Soto Industrial Revenue Bonds — 10-year property tax abatement (PILOT payments) per building · De Soto, KS · 2025 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Water. Developer funding new industrial wastewater treatment facility; cooling water drawn from Kansas River; significant infrastructure upgrades borne by developer

Community. De Soto City Council approved with little public opposition in August 2025; some residents and outside observers raised concern about water draw from the Kansas River and impacts on regional water supply

What the source record says

Developer (Mount Sunflower Properties LLC / Beale Infrastructure, backed by Blue Owl) has pre-leased the entire campus to an unnamed large technology company. Attorney described the tenant as among 'the strongest, most financially profitable companies in the world.' Four buildings of 285,000 sq ft each (1.14M sq ft total); full build-out in 7–9 years. Kansas's first announced hyperscale data center. Permanent job figure of 100 is sourced from Johnson County Post ('over 100 long-term jobs paying six figures'); DCD separately cited 50 operational jobs for the first phase only. Coordinates are De Soto city centroid; exact site is at NW corner of 103rd St and Edgerton Rd.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-08 · source-reported proposed

    De Soto City Council approves 290-acre, $3.1B campus at northwest corner of 103rd Street and Edgerton Road; adjacent to Panasonic EV plant

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026-05 · source-reported under construction

    Groundbreaking May 2026; first phase completion expected 2029 per developer and search-result synthesis; DCD source does not confirm a 2027 target

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID beale-project-pilot-de-soto-ks. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

Independently reviewed match

This exact source identifier is linked to Beale Data Center. The licensed row remains a separate discovery record.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000180

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • De Soto, KS · Johnson (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Beale Infrastructure

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: August 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-08 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-05 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 290 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Evergy

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    The provider reports water information but no cooling type.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $3.1 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 100 permanent · 500 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Kansas Senate Bill 98 — 20-year sales tax exemption on construction materials and equipment · Kansas · 2025

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Incentive reported by the source: De Soto Industrial Revenue Bonds — 10-year property tax abatement (PILOT payments) per building · De Soto, KS · 2025

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-06

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →