Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000554

Edged Ankeny (Des Moines) Data Center

source-reported under construction

Edged Energy

2701 SE 90th Street · Ankeny · Polk County · Iowa

Reported planned 13.2 MWSource updated 16 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Edged Ankeny (Des Moines) Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Edged Energy
Address and locality
2701 SE 90th Street · Ankeny · Polk County · Iowa
Official metro area
Des Moines-West Des Moines, IA
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 13.2 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
16 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000554

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
17.5 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$187 millionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
22 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Announced
6 May 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Tax increment financing (five-year sliding scale) · City of Ankeny · 2025 · $2 million (as stated) Open cited source →

Provider notes

Water. Closed-loop, air-based ThermalWorks waterless cooling; Edged projects it will save more than 52 million gallons of water annually versus a similar-sized conventional data center. Supports up to 70 kW/rack air-cooled, 200 kW/rack with plug-and-play liquid integration.

What the source record says

AI-focused colocation developer (not a Big-5 hyperscaler) building a waterless-cooled, high-density facility at 9100 SE Four Mile Drive, Ankeny (address confirmed via secondary aggregators; coordinates are city-level, not parcel-geocoded — mark approximate). Design PUE 1.15 portfolio-wide; ThermalWorks closed-loop cooling claims >52M gal/yr water savings vs conventional. Third-party trade press (Site Selection Magazine, via search only — not independently fetched) cited a $187M investment and a 105,000 sq ft building; not included here since I couldn't confirm those two figures on a page I fetched myself. Also be aware: a 2024 DCD article (403'd on fetch, so NOT used as a source) described a much larger 'I-80 Commerce Center' two-building proposal (~535K + ~775K sq ft) at what looks like the same general site/intersection under 'Commerce Center LLC' — possibly an earlier or future-phase master plan for the same park. Could not verify, so this record covers ONLY the confirmed Edged 13.2MW project. Worth a follow-up pass to see if the 13.2MW figure has grown, since news headlines referenced the building having since 'topped out.'

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID edged-energy-ankeny-ia. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000554

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • 2701 SE 90th Street, Ankeny, IA · Polk (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Edged Energy

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 6 May 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 17.5 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 13.2 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $187 million

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 22 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Tax increment financing (five-year sliding scale) · City of Ankeny · 2025 · $2 million (as stated)

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-16

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →