Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000170

AWS Wheatfield Campus (Project Rise)

source-reported permitted

Amazon Web Services

Wheatfield · Jasper County · Indiana

Capacity not statedSource updated 25 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for AWS Wheatfield Campus (Project Rise).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Amazon Web Services
Address and locality
Wheatfield · Jasper County · Indiana
Official metro area
Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN
Source-reported status
permitted
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
25 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000170

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
NIPSCOUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
HybridProvider label.
Land area
304 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: supportedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
3 June 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Host Community Agreement / PILOT - Jasper County development agreement (upfront community payment + annual payments in lieu of taxes)

Provider notes

Energy. Grid power via NIPSCO, which is building a 400 MW gas peaker (target 2027) and a combined-cycle gas plant (target 2029) on adjacent property to serve the campus.

Water. Natural air cooling ~98% of the year; supplemental water cooling on hot days; campus will not connect to public water systems and will fund its own water/wastewater infrastructure.

Community. Jasper County Commissioners voted unanimously to approve; residents invited to a June 3 2026 open house; no opposition on record in available sources.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Announced investment: The source note says the roughly $7 billion figure is a soft estimate and that no firm investment value is recorded for this row.
  • Announced permanent jobs: The source note says the roughly 250 permanent jobs are a projection kept in the notes, not in the jobs field.

What the source record says

Codename Project Rise. Nine-building campus on 304 acres of NIPSCO-owned land ~0.5 mi from the R.M. Schahfer Generating Station; part of AWS's $15B Northern Indiana commitment. CAPACITY OMITTED: data-center IT load not disclosed; the 400 MW figure is NIPSCO's new gas peaker plant, not the facility's load. INVESTMENT OMITTED: DCD reports AWS is 'estimating an investment of around $7 billion' - a soft estimate, so no firm investmentUsd is recorded (noted here). ~250 permanent jobs are a projection (in notes, not jobs). AWS commits to restore 425 acres of Kankakee River watershed habitat and provide $25M for Wheatfield Township water access; AWS committed $1.25B to offset NIPSCO ratepayer impacts across the broader buildout. Coordinates are the Wheatfield centroid. Distinct from Project Rainier (New Carlisle) and the Hobart IN campus.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-06-03 · source-reported proposed

    AWS presented plans at a public open house at Kankakee Valley High School

  2. 2026-06-17 · source-reported permitted

    Jasper County Commissioners unanimously approved development agreements and a zoning change

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-wheatfield-in. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000170

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Wheatfield, IN · Jasper (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Amazon Web Services

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported permitted

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 3 June 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-06-03 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-06-17 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 304 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: NIPSCO

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Hybrid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: supported

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Host Community Agreement / PILOT - Jasper County development agreement (upfront community payment + annual payments in lieu of taxes)

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-25

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →