Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000137

AWS Cumulus Data Center Campus, Salem Township

source-reported under construction

Amazon Web Services

1125 Electron Avenue · Salem Township · Luzerne County · Pennsylvania

Reported planned 960 MWReported operational 48 MWSource updated 12 September 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for AWS Cumulus Data Center Campus, Salem Township.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Amazon Web Services
Address and locality
1125 Electron Avenue · Salem Township · Luzerne County · Pennsylvania
Official metro area
Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Operational: 48 MW; Planned: 960 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
12 September 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000137

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Talen EnergyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
NuclearProvider label.
Cooling
EvaporativeProvider label.
Reported water use
0.06 million gallons per day (source-reported)Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Land area
1,200 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
1,000 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
July 2021Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Pennsylvania Computer Data Center Equipment sales-and-use tax exemption (Amazon approved) · Pennsylvania · 2025 Open cited source →
  • Pennsylvania targeted workforce-development investment tied to the Amazon data-center deal (statewide; covers both PA Amazon campuses) · Pennsylvania · 2025 · $10 million (as stated) Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. 10-year PPA from adjacent 2.5GW Susquehanna nuclear plant; 2025 expanded agreement for up to 1,920MW by 2032. AWS acquired Talen's Cumulus campus for $650M (acquisition price; full campus buildout cost separate).

Water. 0.060 MGD (30-day average) per Amazon's SRBC consumptive-use application, covering evaporative cooling for Buildings 2 and 3 of the initial phase (Building 1 has no consumptive use); water is drawn from an on-site production well, not the Susquehanna River directly. Full 960 MW build-out demand is not stated in the application.

Community. Local sentiment is divided per Salem Township officials. The township signed nondisclosure agreements with data-center developers, drawing transparency criticism from a state legislator, and there has been significant residential turnover near the site (homes bought out). No organized litigation specific to this campus was identified.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Announced investment: The source energy note identifies the amount as an acquisition price and says the full campus buildout cost is separate.

What the source record says

Adjacent to the 2.5GW Susquehanna Steam Electric Station. FERC blocked a proposed colocation agreement in April 2025, leading to the PPA structure instead. TeraWulf operates a separate Nautilus cryptomining facility (Nautilus) on the same property not included in this record.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2021-07 · source-reported proposed

    Talen Energy announces Cumulus Data Center campus with AWS as anchor tenant adjacent to Susquehanna Steam Electric Station

    Open cited source →

  2. 2023-01 · source-reported under construction

    First 48MW hyperscale building (300,000 sq ft) completed by Talen

    Open cited source →

  3. 2024-03 · source-reported under construction

    AWS acquires full 960MW campus from Talen Energy for $650M; phased 120MW-increment buildout to continue through 960MW or optionally capped at 480MW

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-cumulus-salem-township-pa. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000137

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • 1125 Electron Avenue, Salem Township, PA · Luzerne (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: Amazon Web Services

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: July 2021

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2021-07 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2023-01 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2024-03 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 1,200 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Operational: 48 MW; Planned: 960 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Talen Energy

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Nuclear

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Evaporative

    Provider label.

  • Reported water use: 0.06 million gallons per day (source-reported)

    Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 1,000 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Pennsylvania Computer Data Center Equipment sales-and-use tax exemption (Amazon approved) · Pennsylvania · 2025

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Pennsylvania targeted workforce-development investment tied to the Amazon data-center deal (statewide; covers both PA Amazon campuses) · Pennsylvania · 2025 · $10 million (as stated)

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-12

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →