This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for AWS Costas Property Campus (Ridgeland).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Amazon Web Services
- Address and locality
- Ridgeland · Madison County · Mississippi
- Official metro area
- Jackson, MS
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 10 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000135
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Land area
- 786 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Not established
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
- Announced
- 2024
Provider notes
Community. No Ridgeland-specific community reaction found in sources fetched this run; the live aggregate record documents Canton-side (dust/noise/air-quality) opposition, which this record does not duplicate absent Ridgeland-specific evidence.
What the source record says
RESOLVES last wave's hold with independent primary-tier evidence that Canton and Ridgeland are genuinely two distinct AWS campuses, not a single project under two names. Mississippi Free Press (2026-08-19), reporting Madison County's denial of AWS's tax-valuation appeal, states directly: 'The county has entered into two fee-in-lieu-of-taxes agreements with the tech giant for its data center campuses in Canton and Ridgeland' -- i.e., Madison County's own tax/incentive administration treats these as two separate FILOT agreements, not one. Magnolia Tribune (2024-07-24, accessed again this run) gives the physical distinction: the Madison County Mega Site is '927 acres ... located off Highway 22 and Nissan Parkway in Canton,' while the Costas Property is 'an additional 786 acres in Ridgeland ... located along the southern tip of Madison County near Tougaloo College, on the corner of Highland Colony Parkway and West County Line Road' -- roughly 20 miles apart. Both sites are within Madison County (Ridgeland is not a separate county), so the live aggregate record's id/framing as 'Madison County' is not wrong on that count, but it does combine two separately-incentivized campuses. Coordinates are the OSM-tagged traffic-signal node at the actual Highland Colony Parkway / West County Line Road intersection (confirmed via Overpass API query against current OpenStreetMap way data, not an estimate), not a confirmed parcel boundary -- precision 'approximate'. Deliberately omitted: capacityMw, investmentUsd, and jobs, because every figure found for this project (the $10B investment, the combined MW target, job counts) is stated for the two-site project as a whole; no source fetched this run apportions any of these by site, and apportioning by acreage share would be a fabricated estimate, not a sourced fact. See the companion refresh finding on aws-project-atlas-madison-county-ms recommending it be re-scoped to the Canton site alone.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026 · source-reported under construction
Reported as 'in the early stages of construction'; both Madison County sites estimated for completion by 2027.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Amazon's venture into Mississippi: A detailed overview · Magnolia Tribune
- Madison County Denies Amazon's Valuation Appeal for Canton Data Centers, Preserving Millions in Tax Revenue · Mississippi Free Press
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-costas-ridgeland-ms. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000135
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Ridgeland, MS · Madison (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Amazon Web Services
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 2024
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 786 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Not established
Provider label: unknown.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-10
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.