Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000131

Carter's Store Tech Campus

source-reported permitted

Amazon Web Services

Spotsylvania · Spotsylvania County · Virginia

Capacity not statedSource updated 26 July 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Carter's Store Tech Campus.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Amazon Web Services
Address and locality
Spotsylvania · Spotsylvania County · Virginia
Official metro area
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV
Source-reported status
permitted
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
26 July 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000131

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Rappahannock Electric Co-opUtility as named by the provider.
Land area
313 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
Announced
June 2023Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Community. Spotsylvania Board of Supervisors approved the four-campus AWS rezoning package (Summit Crossing, Carter's Store, Cosner, Orrock) 5-2 on Oct 10, 2023; the two dissenting supervisors said they supported the project but objected that some agreements were not in writing.

What the source record says

One of Amazon Web Services' four Spotsylvania data center campuses. ~313 acres at 8432 Flippo Drive, east of I-95, bordering the Summit Crossing campus; up to ~2.6M sq ft of data center buildings through 2035 (Phase 1 max ~900k sq ft). Amazon Data Services filed June 2023 to rezone from Rural to Industrial-1; Board of Supervisors approved the four AWS rezonings 5-2 in October 2023 ("ST23" case series). Status conservatively recorded as permitted: sources conflict on construction timing — Data Center Frontier reports Phase 1 construction starting July 2027, while The Fredericksburg Advance (2026) describes buildings going up across the AWS sites. Coordinates exact (8432 Flippo Drive geocode).

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-07-17 · source-reported permitted

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-carters-store-tech-campus-spotsylvania-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000131

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Spotsylvania, VA (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: Amazon Web Services

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported permitted

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: June 2023

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-07-17 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 313 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Rappahannock Electric Co-op

    Utility as named by the provider.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-26

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →