Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001264

Rowan Digital Infrastructure Bauxite II

source-reported permitted

Rowan Digital Infrastructure

Frederick · Frederick County · Maryland

Capacity not statedSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Rowan Digital Infrastructure Bauxite II.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Rowan Digital Infrastructure
Address and locality
Frederick · Frederick County · Maryland
Official metro area
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV
Source-reported status
permitted
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001264

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Potomac Edison (FirstEnergy)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedThe provider reports water information but no cooling type.
Reported water use
0.392 million gallons per day (source-reported)Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Land area
111.5 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Provider notes

Energy. Served initially from the FirstEnergy Sage Substation; Rowan plans to build an adjacent substation for a direct connection.

Water. Site plan filings state 392,000 gallons per day for cooling. Bauxite II and III together require about 1.081 million gpd, nearly exhausting the 1.3 million gpd first-phase allocation under Frederick County's Adequate Public Facilities Ordinance agreement.

What the source record says

Second phase of Rowan's three-phase Bauxite campus on the former Alcoa Eastalco site inside Quantum Frederick. Four data center buildings plus auxiliary buildings on 111.5 acres; Rowan states delivery in 2026. Per-phase MW is not stated consistently across sources, so capacityMw is omitted; Rowan describes the combined three-phase campus as about 600-630 MW across 375 acres. Re-checked 2026-09-10: status confirmed PERMITTED, no change. accessed again the Planning Commission approval article; no newer filings or status developments found this run. Per-phase MW remains genuinely unstated in every source found (Rowan only quotes the combined ~600-630 MW campus figure), consistent with the existing record's deliberate omission of capacityMw.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2024-12-12 · source-reported permitted

    Frederick County Planning Commission approved the Bauxite II site plan unanimously (6-0).

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID rowan-bauxite-ii-frederick-md. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001264

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Frederick, MD (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Rowan Digital Infrastructure

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported permitted

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2024-12-12 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 111.5 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Potomac Edison (FirstEnergy)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    The provider reports water information but no cooling type.

  • Reported water use: 0.392 million gallons per day (source-reported)

    Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-10

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →