Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001267

Rowan Project Temple

source-reported under construction

Rowan Digital Infrastructure

Bob White Road · Temple · Bell County · Texas

Reported planned 300 MWSource updated 14 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Rowan Project Temple.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Rowan Digital Infrastructure
Address and locality
Bob White Road · Temple · Bell County · Texas
Official metro area
Killeen-Temple, TX
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
14 October 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001267

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
OncorUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
700 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
40 permanent · 600 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • City of Temple property-tax abatement (Chapter 312) - reported 50% of city property tax for 10 years per construction phase (Killeen Daily Herald); project generates ~$7M/yr during abatement years and ~$12M/yr fully on the tax rolls (City of Temple) · City of Temple, TX · 2025 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Power secured via a partnership with Oncor (ERCOT grid); no on-site generation documented.

Water. City of Temple requires closed-loop cooling for data-center projects; Project Temple's domestic water use is contractually capped at 4,000 gal/day (a contractual requirement, not an estimate) with no ongoing cooling-water withdrawal. The full utility-services agreement was withheld by the City in response to a records request.

Community. Temple City Council approved unanimously and Bell County supported; organized resident opposition (town halls, council testimony) raised concerns over an undisclosed additional Rowan campus, water/grid/noise, and the abatement. Rowan held a March 2026 open house and community partnerships. The named tenant is undisclosed ('top global technology company'); opposition speculates Meta, unconfirmed.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Announced investment: The source note says the roughly $700 million figure is an abatement minimum-investment floor and that investment was meant to be omitted.

What the source record says

300 MW campus in Temple, Bell County; $3B financing secured, operations targeted 2027. Distinct from Rowan's separately-tracked Frederick, MD campus. Coordinates are the Temple area centroid. The '$3B' figure is green debt financing (May 2026), not campus capex; the abatement cites a ~$700M minimum investment floor -> investmentUsd omitted. ~600 construction / ~40 permanent jobs projected (abatement requires >=48 permanent) -> jobs honest-zero.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026 · source-reported under construction

    Rowan Digital began construction on a 300 MW data center in Temple, Bell County; $3B financing secured, operations targeted 2027

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID rowan-temple-tx. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001267

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Bob White Road, Temple, TX · Bell (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Rowan Digital Infrastructure

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 700 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Oncor

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 40 permanent · 600 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: City of Temple property-tax abatement (Chapter 312) - reported 50% of city property tax for 10 years per construction phase (Killeen Daily Herald); project generates ~$7M/yr during abatement years and ~$12M/yr fully on the tax rolls (City of Temple) · City of Temple, TX · 2025

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-14

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →