This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Quantum Frederick.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- TPG Real Estate Partners / Catellus Development Corporation
- Address and locality
- 5601 Manor Woods Rd · Frederick · Frederick County · Maryland
- Official metro area
- Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 13 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001230
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Land area
- 2,100 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
What the source record says
This record is the master-planned 2,100-acre park itself (the former Alcoa Eastalco Works site), NOT a duplicate of any single tenant building. The individual tenant campuses already tracked separately in this dataset -- Aligned Data Centers IAD-04/IAD-06 (aligned-quantum-frederick-md, aligned-iad-06-frederick-md) and Rowan Digital Infrastructure Bauxite I/II/III (rowan-digital-frederick-md, rowan-bauxite-ii-frederick-md, rowan-bauxite-iii-frederick-md) -- sit on parcels within this same park and should NOT be re-summed against this record's acreage. Original developer Quantum Loophole, Inc. was removed from active management/development of the project in a Dec. 2025 dispute settlement with its financial partner TPG Real Estate; TPG now serves as Manager and its affiliate Catellus Development Corporation as Developer, per Catellus's own statement ('TPG Real Estate and Quantum Loophole, Inc. have resolved their dispute over management and development of the 2,100-acre data center campus... Quantum Loophole will no longer have any active involvement in managing or developing the Project.'). The Frederick County Council separately created a Critical Digital Infrastructure Overlay Zone in January 2026 that expanded the area eligible for data-center development around this site by nearly 1,000 acres, but that is a zoning designation, not confirmed additional owned/developed acreage, so it is not included in landAcres here. CORRECTION: this record's `notes` field states the Quantum Loophole / TPG dispute was resolved in a 'Dec. 2025 dispute settlement.' Primary sources -- Catellus's own statement and Quantum Loophole's own statement, both published/dated 2024-12-23 -- show the settlement and mutual litigation dismissal occurred in DECEMBER 2024, not December 2025. The operator field and the substance of what happened (Quantum Loophole removed from active management/development, TPG + Catellus took over) are already correct and need no change -- only the year cited in the notes prose is wrong. Re-checked 2026-09-13 for any further operator/ownership change since: found none; TPG Real Estate / Catellus Development Corporation remain the manager/developer of record, no new litigation found.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
No status history was supplied in this edition.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Statement from TPG Real Estate and Catellus Development Corporation on the Quantum Frederick Project · Catellus Development Corporation
- Quantum Loophole Plans to Develop Data Center Campus in Maryland · Maryland Department of Commerce
- Quantum Frederick, Frederick County, MD: Maryland Data Center Series, Pt. 3 · Nature Forward
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID quantum-frederick-campus-md. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001230
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- 5601 Manor Woods Rd, Frederick, MD (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: TPG Real Estate Partners / Catellus Development Corporation
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 2,100 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-13
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.