Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000998

Microsoft Pecos Data Center Campus

source-reported proposed

Microsoft

Pecos · Reeves County · Texas

Reported planned 2,000 MWSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Microsoft Pecos Data Center Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Microsoft
Address and locality
Pecos · Reeves County · Texas
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 2,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000998

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Chevron/Energy Forge One LLCUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
On-site gasProvider label.
On-site generation
2,670 MW (source-reported)On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
7,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
6,000 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: supportedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
June 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. 20-year PPA with Energy Forge One (Chevron subsidiary) for dedicated behind-the-meter natural gas plant (~$7B plant cost). GE Vernova and Caterpillar/Solar Turbines. Campus designed to eventually integrate with ERCOT regional grid.

Water. Closed-loop cooling designed to minimize water use, compared by Microsoft to a fast-food restaurant on a lifecycle basis.

Community. Reeves County Judge Leo Hung is quoted welcoming the project at its June 2026 announcement; Microsoft describes a planned 'Community First approach' with future community meetings, but no meetings/hearings have occurred yet as of the article date and no opposition is documented. Checked: Microsoft's own announcement blog post only -- this is official/company-sourced reaction at announcement stage, not an independent local-news check.

What the source record says

7,000-acre campus in Reeves County. Natural gas plant investment estimated at $7B separate from campus construction. No groundbreaking date reported as of July 2026; coordinates are Pecos city center as exact parcel not disclosed.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-06 · source-reported proposed

    Microsoft announces 2 GW campus in Pecos as one of largest single capacity additions in company history. Five-to-seven-year build-out planned.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-pecos-tx. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

Operator’s own listing

What the operator publishes about this site on its own website, matched to this licensed row by DataCenterData. Facts are taken from the operator’s page, shown with a link to it, and not independently verified; no page text is republished and the licensed values above are unchanged. A match does not establish that the listing and this row cover exactly the same building, suite or boundary, or who owns the site.

Listed by Microsoft on its website (captured 25 September 2026)
Name as listed
Pecos
Address as published
Pecos, TX

Lifecycle status is not published for this listing.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Open the operator’s page → captured 25 September 2026

Matched to this licensed row on the same specific operator facility page already cited by this record, with independently reviewed subject identity; no new address or boundary is established.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000998

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Pecos, TX · Reeves (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Microsoft

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: June 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-06 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 7,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 2,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Chevron/Energy Forge One LLC

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: On-site gas

    Provider label.

  • On-site generation: 2,670 MW (source-reported)

    On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 6,000 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: supported

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-10

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →