Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000961

Microsoft Alviso Data Center Campus

source-reported under construction

Microsoft

1657 Alviso-Milpitas Road · San Jose (Alviso) · Santa Clara County · California

Reported planned 48 MWSource updated 29 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Microsoft Alviso Data Center Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Microsoft
Address and locality
1657 Alviso-Milpitas Road · San Jose (Alviso) · Santa Clara County · California
Official metro area
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 48 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
29 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000961

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Pacific Gas and Electric CompanyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedProvider label: unknown.
Land area
65 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced
10 June 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. CEC Small Power Plant Exemption 19-SPPE-04 (exempted 2022-07-14) covers backup generation for this site: 224 renewable-natural-gas generators rated 0.45 MW each plus two diesel administrative generators of 1.25 MW and 0.5 MW, against a stated maximum electrical load of 99 MW and an estimated operational load of 77 MW.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Provider water note: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.

What the source record says

Microsoft's first self-owned/operated data center in San Jose. Groundbreaking June 10, 2026, target completion 2028. 64-acre site (1657 Alviso-Milpitas Rd), two-building campus. Distinct from the already-tracked Prologis San Jose records.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-06-10 · source-reported under construction

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-alviso-san-jose-ca. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

State or local registry record

What a state or local government record says at this same street address. The record is cited, not republished. It does not establish that a data center is operating, its capacity, or its owner or operator unless the record says that role. It is not added to the counts on this page.

Same street address. The government record cites the same street as this record.

San Jose Data Center

Publishing agency
California Energy Commission
Record type
energy siting case
Record identifiers
19-SPPE-04
Named in the record
Microsoft Corporation The record does not call this company the operator.

Factual fields cited to the named government page. DataCenterData does not republish the page or the underlying database. A permit, certification, tax status, or application does not by itself establish an operating data center.

What this record does not establish

  • That a permit, certification, tax status, or application means an operating data center.
  • Current IT capacity, utility load, or generation capacity.
  • Who operates the site. A company named in the record is not the operator unless the record says so.
  • Cooling redundancy. Mentioned equipment is not a design rating.
  • Whether the record covers one building, a campus, or a suite, beyond the unit label the record itself uses.
No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000961

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • 1657 Alviso-Milpitas Road, San Jose (Alviso), CA · Santa Clara (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Microsoft

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 10 June 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-06-10 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 65 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 48 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Pacific Gas and Electric Company

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    Provider label: unknown.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-29

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →