This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Microsoft Boydton Campus (BN / Azure East US).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Microsoft
- Address and locality
- Boydton · Mecklenburg County · Virginia
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- operational
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 25 July 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000963
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Announced jobs
- 350 permanent
- Announced
- August 2010
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Governor's Opportunity Fund grant · Virginia · 2010 · $2.1 million (as stated) Open cited source →
- Virginia Tobacco Indemnification and Community Revitalization Commission grant · Virginia / Mecklenburg County · 2010 · $4.8 million (as stated) Open cited source →
- Virginia Jobs Investment Program (training assistance) · Virginia · 2010 Open cited source →
These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.
- Announced investment: The source note describes the amount as a cumulative lower bound across repeated campus expansions over about a decade, not a single announced investment figure.
What the source record says
This is the PARENT Microsoft Boydton campus — one of Microsoft's oldest and largest US data center campuses, hosting the Azure 'East US' region, first announced 2010 (~$499M initial investment) and expanded repeatedly through 2011/2013/2014/2015/2019 (cumulative >$2B investment). Distinct from the already-tracked microsoft-skipwith-road-campus-mecklenburg-va (a separate 2022 six-building permit). Located east of Highway 92 / west of Highway 608 (Ridge Road); addresses cited across sources include 101 Herbert Drive and 925 Ridge Rd, Boydton VA — sources differ on whether these are the same 175-
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-07-17 · source-reported operational
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Microsoft Boydton datacenter fact sheet · Microsoft (local.microsoft.com)
- Microsoft Azure East US-Virginia, 101 Herbert Drive, Boydton VA · datacenters.com
- Microsoft Boydton VA Data Center — 175-acre site, 10 buildings, built 2013, $2B+ invested since 2010 · baxtel
- Microsoft files for another Virginia campus in Mecklenburg County (named corroboration only, DCD 403-blocks fetch) · DatacenterDynamics
- yourgv.com — Microsoft's $2B investment in Southern Virginia fulfills early vision
- VEDP press release — Governor McDonnell Announces Microsoft to Locate Major Data Center in Mecklenburg County
- VEDP case study — Microsoft Corporation's Expanding Virginia Footprint
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-boydton-bn-campus-mecklenburg-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000963
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Boydton, VA · Mecklenburg (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Microsoft
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported operational
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: August 2010
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-07-17 · source-reported operational
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced jobs: 350 permanent
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: Governor's Opportunity Fund grant · Virginia · 2010 · $2.1 million (as stated)
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: Virginia Tobacco Indemnification and Community Revitalization Commission grant · Virginia / Mecklenburg County · 2010 · $4.8 million (as stated)
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: Virginia Jobs Investment Program (training assistance) · Virginia · 2010
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-25
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.