Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000996

Microsoft Project Osmium Data Center

source-reported under construction

Microsoft

5855 SW Kerry Street · West Des Moines · Warren County · Iowa

Capacity not statedSource updated 16 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Microsoft Project Osmium Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Microsoft
Address and locality
5855 SW Kerry Street · West Des Moines · Warren County · Iowa
Official metro area
Des Moines-West Des Moines, IA
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
16 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000996

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Land area
110 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

What the source record says

Announced 2016; Microsoft's largest Iowa campus (1.7M sq ft once built out), at 5855 SW Kerry St. Distinct parcel/campus from all currently-tracked Microsoft IA records. Other reporting (not independently fetched this session) says the site spans 160 acres in Warren County + 40 in Madison County, and totals $1.5-2B investment; only the Warren County / building-address / sqft facts below are independently confirmed via direct fetch.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-osmium-west-des-moines-ia. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

Federal registry record

What the U.S. EPA Facility Registry Service records at this street address, selected by DataCenterData from EPA’s ECHO Exporter. U.S. government data; not independently verified by DataCenterData. It does not establish who owns or operates the site, whether it is operating, its size, or whether the registration covers one building or a whole campus.

The U.S. EPA registry lists a facility registered as “OSMIUM DATA CENTER” at 5855 SW KERRY STREET, WEST DES MOINES, IA 50061.

Name as registered
OSMIUM DATA CENTER
Address as registered
5855 SW KERRY STREET, WEST DES MOINES, IA 50061
EPA registry ID
110070616781

One EPA registration; it may cover generators for a whole campus or a single building.

Registrations EPA lists for this ID

  • Clean Air Act registration (stationary sources, typically standby generators)

A registration says which program covers the site; it is not a permit for a data center and says nothing about compliance.

The registrant differs from the operator above; at a shared address the registration may be a tenant’s.

Open EPA’s detailed facility report (permits, inspections and compliance history as EPA records them) → EPA ECHO Exporter snapshot of 20 September 2026, retrieved 25 September 2026. ECHO data come from EPA and state systems; they can lag or contain errors, and EPA’s report is the current record. No compliance, inspection or enforcement value is copied here.

Matched to this licensed row on identical full street address. The licensed values above are unchanged.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000996

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • 5855 SW Kerry Street, West Des Moines, IA · Warren (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Microsoft

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 110 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-16

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →