Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000976

Microsoft Gaines Township Data Center

source-reported proposed

Microsoft

Gaines Township · Kent County · Michigan

Capacity not statedSource updated 9 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Microsoft Gaines Township Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Microsoft
Address and locality
Gaines Township · Kent County · Michigan
Official metro area
Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood, MI
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
9 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000976

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Consumers EnergyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedProvider label: unknown.
Land area
316 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Provider notes

Water. Microsoft's conditional-rezoning commitments state it will not withdraw groundwater at the site for cooling; the commitment does not identify the cooling technology itself.

What the source record says

Microsoft's SECOND data center site within Gaines Township -- distinct from the unrelated, already-operational Switch Pyramid Campus (also in Gaines Township, tracked separately as switch-pyramid-campus-grand-rapids-mi). Microsoft bought a ~300-316-acre former Steelcase parcel on/near Patterson Avenue for ~$45-45.3M in October 2024 and is seeking to rezone a 40.5-acre portion from large-scale PUD to light industrial; Gaines Charter Township Planning Commission held a public hearing Dec 18, 2025. Township Community Development Director, Dec 2025: no specific plans provided yet beyond general intent. No capacity or total project-investment figure disclosed as of this pass. Coordinates are an approximate Patterson Avenue / Gaines Township estimate (deliberately offset from the existing Switch record's East Paris Avenue coordinates), not parcel-geocoded. Confirmed absence, not a gap: Microsoft has committed in writing to seek no local property tax abatement from Gaines Charter Township, so the empty subsidies field reflects a sourced negative at the township level. State-level (MEDC/MSF) incentives were not checked by this source.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-gaines-township-mi. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000976

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Gaines Township, MI · Kent (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Microsoft

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 316 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Consumers Energy

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    Provider label: unknown.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-09

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →