Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000969

Microsoft Douglasville Data Center Campus

source-reported under construction

Microsoft

Douglasville · Douglas County · Georgia

Capacity not statedSource updated 6 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Microsoft Douglasville Data Center Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Microsoft
Address and locality
Douglasville · Douglas County · Georgia
Official metro area
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
6 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000969

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Georgia PowerUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedThe provider reports water information but no cooling type.
Land area
160 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
January 2024Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Development Authority of Douglas County property-tax abatement (a county official confirmed Microsoft is enrolled in an incentive program; amount and term are not in the public record), plus Georgia's statewide data-center sales-and-use tax exemption (the state does not disclose company-level amounts) · Douglas County / Georgia · 2021 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Grid-served by Georgia Power (the regulated utility). A secondary tracker reported ~144 MW critical / 216 MW total campus load, but the primary source could not be confirmed.

Water. The Douglasville–Douglas County Water & Sewer Authority (Dog River Reservoir) is the provider; no facility-specific water volume is published. Microsoft pledges to be 'water positive' by 2030 and reports an 80%+ reduction in water intensity company-wide.

Community. The mayor welcomed Microsoft's arrival and a county official cited it as a model incentive recipient, but Douglas County enacted two 90-day moratoriums on new data centers in 2025 over ratepayer and infrastructure concerns and is reviewing abatement terms; no Microsoft-specific opposition was found.

What the source record says

Four 245,000 sq ft technology facilities totaling ~980,000 sq ft on 160-acre parcel at 1601 North River Road, Douglasville. Part of Azure East US 3 region alongside facilities in East Point and Palmetto. Coordinates are Douglasville city centroid; actual site is northern Douglasville.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2024-01 · source-reported proposed

    Plans filed for four 245,000 sq ft technology facilities on 160-acre parcel at 1601 North River Road as part of Azure East US 3 region

  2. 2024-06 · source-reported under construction

    Phase I construction commenced; full Azure East US 3 cloud region launch targeted 2027

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-douglasville-ga. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000969

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Douglasville, GA (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Microsoft

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: January 2024

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2024-01 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2024-06 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 160 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Georgia Power

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    The provider reports water information but no cooling type.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Development Authority of Douglas County property-tax abatement (a county official confirmed Microsoft is enrolled in an incentive program; amount and term are not in the public record), plus Georgia's statewide data-center sales-and-use tax exemption (the state does not disclose company-level amounts) · Douglas County / Georgia · 2021

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-06

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →