Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000950

Meta Sarpy Campus (Springfield expansion)

source-reported under construction

Meta

Springfield · Sarpy County · Nebraska

Capacity not statedSource updated 14 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Meta Sarpy Campus (Springfield expansion).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Meta
Address and locality
Springfield · Sarpy County · Nebraska
Official metro area
Omaha, NE-IA
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
14 September 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000950

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Omaha Public Power District (OPPD)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
MixedProvider label.
Cooling
EvaporativeProvider label.
Reported water use
0.073 million gallons per day (source-reported)Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Land area
500 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$1.5 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
300 permanent · 1,300 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
mixed useCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
July 2022Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Meta matches 100% of electricity use with renewable energy across all data centers

Water. Existing campus buildings withdraw approximately 26.7 million gallons per year (0.073 MGD) for cooling; campus features water-efficient technologies. Water figure is for current operational buildings, not the full planned campus.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Provider community note: The community note names a private resident quoted in local press, so the note is held out of the public page.

What the source record says

Campus spans Papillion and Springfield, Sarpy County. Existing multi-building campus operational since 2019; ongoing expansion toward a 9-building, 4-million-sq-ft footprint. Meta has invested more than $1.5B at this site since 2017 (confirmed by DCD and multiple sources; a $2.5B total figure appeared in the record but was not supported by any cited source). Planned MW capacity of 2,000 was removed — no source confirms a MW figure for this campus. Springfield buildings were targeted for completion by end 2024; operational status of those buildings as of mid-2026 should be verified against a current source. Coordinates approximate for the Springfield expansion area; original Papillion buildings are slightly northeast.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2019 · source-reported operational

    Initial campus buildings become operational in Papillion/Sarpy County

  2. 2022-07 · source-reported under construction

    Meta announces 9-building, 4 million sq ft expansion; acquires 500+ acres in Springfield south of Papillion campus; Springfield completion targeted end 2024 per 2022 announcement

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID meta-sarpy-springfield-ne. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000950

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): mixed use

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Springfield, NE · Sarpy (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Meta

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: July 2022

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2019 · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2022-07 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 500 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Omaha Public Power District (OPPD)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Mixed

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Evaporative

    Provider label.

  • Reported water use: 0.073 million gallons per day (source-reported)

    Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $1.5 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 300 permanent · 1,300 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-14

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →