This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Meta Kuna Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Meta
- Address and locality
- Kuna · Ada County · Idaho
- Official metro area
- Boise City, ID
- Source-reported status
- operational
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 4 October 2026
- Location precision
- approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000940
The underlying provider record is retained. These notes add source-attributed context and flag conflicts; any withheld value is explained separately. They do not certify current operation.
- Source review · reviewed 2026-10-11: Prior source review (2026-10-09): Meta announced on September 3, 2026 that its Kuna data center was online and operational. This is a dated operator statement, not an independently confirmed opening date. The undated operator factsheet still uses future-tense wording; that conflict is retained. Its 2022 groundbreaking year is historical context, not evidence of current capacity. Historical document addendum reviewed 2026-10-11: The Idaho PUC's May 11, 2023 Order 35777 approved, with required modifications, a special energy-services contract and Tariff Schedule 33 for Brisbie, LLC. Its May 12 release places the data center in the Kuna area and identifies Brisbie as its owner. Idaho Power's November 2022 application names Meta Platforms as Brisbie's parent; this is a party statement, not current ownership evidence. Its May 30, 2024 application reports an October 12, 2023 approval of the first contract amendment; that approval order was not captured. The second amendment was submitted for approval in 2024; the captured application does not establish its final disposition. These documents do not establish energization, service commencement, IT load, building permission or a location within Kuna city limits.
- Meta Data Centers (operator) — 2026-09-03 · source retrieved 2026-10-09
- Meta Data Centers (operator) — 2026-09 (upload path; no printed date) · source retrieved 2026-10-09
- Idaho Public Utilities Commission — 2023-05-11 · source retrieved 2026-10-10
- Idaho Public Utilities Commission news release — 2023-05-12 · source retrieved 2026-10-10
- Idaho Power application filed with the Idaho PUC — 2024-05-30 · source retrieved 2026-10-10
- Idaho Power application submitted November 11, received November 14 — 2022-11 · source retrieved 2026-10-10
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Idaho Power
- Power source
- Mixed
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 485 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $800 million
- Announced jobs
- 100 permanent · 1,400 construction
- Community response
- Provider label: supported
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
- Announced
- September 2022
Provider notes
Energy. 100% renewable energy committed; Meta adding 200 MW of renewable energy to Idaho grid as part of project
Water. Meta describes a closed-loop water cooling system that 'allows us to use virtually no water for the majority of the year' (Idaho News, 2026-09-03). Deseret (2026-03-04) reports about 70,000 gallons/day in winter months and seven water rights equal to roughly 3 million gallons/day. Meta aims to be water positive by 2030.
Community. Meta committed to build $70M water and sewer system donated to city of Kuna per Construction Equipment Guide (sourceIndex 1). Note: Idaho Business Review (sourceIndex 2) cites a '$100M water treatment facility' — figures may reflect different project phases or scopes. Idaho sales-tax exemption on construction materials and server equipment applies.
What the source record says
960,000 sq ft campus (Meta's 15th US data center). Originally Project Peregrine. Construction paused December 2022, restarted October 2023 with AI-optimized architecture; new design 31% cheaper and half the build time. Peak construction employed 1,400 workers. Expected operational end of 2026. Water infrastructure cost sourced to CEG ($70M) but Idaho Business Review cites $100M — discrepancy unresolved; use CEG figure as primary. Coordinates are Kuna city centroid; exact site is west of city center. As of December 2025, the campus was in the "final stages" of construction; local reporting notes power demand will not be clear until the site comes online.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2022-05 · source-reported proposed
Project Peregrine: 485-acre site in Kuna, Ada County announced
- 2022-09 · source-reported under construction
Broke ground September 2022
- 2023-10 · source-reported under construction
Construction resumed after December 2022 pause; new AI-optimized design with denser GPU deployment support
- 2026-10-04 · source-reported operational
Meta's Kuna data center is open and fully operational, serving traffic on Meta's platforms worldwide (reported 2026-09-03).
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Meta Resumes Construction of Idaho Data Center with New AI Design · Data Center Dynamics
- Meta Hits Peak Construction on $800M Idaho Data Center · Construction Equipment Guide
- Meta's Mega Data Center in Kuna On Track (completion later revised to 2026) · Idaho Business Review
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
- How data centers are reshaping Idaho's farm country · Deseret News
- Meta opens new AI data center in Kuna, hopes to become water positive · Idaho News 6 (KIVI)
- How data centers are reshaping Idaho's farm country · Deseret News
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID meta-kuna-id. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
Operator’s own listing
What the operator publishes about this site on its own website, matched to this licensed row by DataCenterData. Facts are taken from the operator’s page, shown with a link to it, and not independently verified; no page text is republished and the licensed values above are unchanged. A match does not establish that the listing and this row cover exactly the same building, suite or boundary, or who owns the site.
- Name as listed
- Kuna
- Address as published
- Kuna, ID
Lifecycle status is not published for this listing.
Opened: 2026.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000940
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Kuna, ID · Ada (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Meta
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported operational
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: September 2022
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2022-05 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2022-09 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2023-10 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2026-10-04 · source-reported operational
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 485 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Idaho Power
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Mixed
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $800 million
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Announced jobs: 100 permanent · 1,400 construction
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: supported
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-10-04
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.