Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000427

DC BLOX Birmingham Data Center Campus

source-reported operational

DC BLOX

433 6th Street South · Birmingham · Jefferson County · Alabama · 35233

Reported planned up to 60 MW · scope: expansionOperational not established after reviewSource updated 21 September 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for DC BLOX Birmingham Data Center Campus.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
DC BLOX
Address and locality
433 6th Street South · Birmingham · Jefferson County · Alabama · 35233
Official metro area
Birmingham, AL
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 60 MW (stated as “up to”; scope: expansion; provider note: “Up to 5MW critical load; expandable up to 60MW”; the same source also states “49 Critical MW (Committed & Planned)” (campus-level figure on the same operator page; not reconciled by DC BLOX with the 60 MW expansion ceiling); cited source: Birmingham Data Center - Alabama Colocation) (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider). Operational: not established; source review excludes the published operational figure
Source freshness
21 September 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000427
Operational capacity held out of the public projection.

The provider note records the operator specification page as stating “Up to 5MW critical load; expandable up to 60MW”: the 5 MW is the stated ceiling for the initial build, not a demonstrated operating load, so it is not repeated as operational capacity. The 60 MW is retained only as the expansion ceiling the operator states; the same page also states a campus figure of 49 Critical MW (Committed & Planned) that DC BLOX does not reconcile with it.

The planned figure is retained only as the provider states it: up to 60 MW (stated as “up to”; scope: expansion; provider note: “Up to 5MW critical load; expandable up to 60MW”; the same source also states “49 Critical MW (Committed & Planned)” (campus-level figure on the same operator page; not reconciled by DC BLOX with the 60 MW expansion ceiling); cited source: Birmingham Data Center - Alabama Colocation). Open the cited source → The upstream row remains attributed below; no operational figure is repeated as site capacity, and unknown is not zero.

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

AI-use label (provider)
mixed useCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Cooling: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.

What the source record says

Operator spec page states verbatim: "Up to 5MW critical load; expandable up to 60MW" and "31,000 sq. ft. initially; expandable up to 200,000 sq. ft.", with a planned expansion building of 263,000 SF. A campus-level stat block on the same page reads "4 Data Centers (Operational & in Development)", "294,000 Square Feet", "49 Critical MW (Committed & Planned)" — the 60MW and 49MW figures are stated on the same page and are not reconciled by DC BLOX; both recorded here verbatim rather than normalized. Cooling: the source says only "N+1 cooling", "Hot aisle containment" and "High efficiency Direct Expansion (DX)" and does not state whether a recirculating water circuit is present, so coolingType is deliberately not classified. Site is the former Ingalls Ironworks building; DC BLOX states it is the first multi-tenant data center in Alabama to hold Uptime Institute Tier III Certification of Constructed Facility. Coordinates are the OSM building polygon centroid for the parcel, which OSM independently tags as a data centre named "DC Blox Data Center". Investment, jobs and subsidies not stated on any source fetched in this run — not checked at the Jefferson County / City of Birmingham tier, so their absence here is a gap in this research, NOT an audited negative.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID dc-blox-birmingham-al. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

Operator’s own listing

What the operator publishes about this site on its own website, matched to this licensed row by DataCenterData. Facts are taken from the operator’s page, shown with a link to it, and not independently verified; no page text is republished and the licensed values above are unchanged. A match does not establish that the listing and this row cover exactly the same building, suite or boundary, or who owns the site.

Listed by DC BLOX on its website (captured 27 September 2026)
Name as listed
Birmingham Data Center
Operator’s facility code
BHM1-B
Address as published
433 6th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35233

Lifecycle status is not published for this listing.

Floor area: 31,000 square feet. Scope facility · current or planned not stated. Floor area as stated for this facility. Not a different building or campus unless the scope says so. The source does not say whether the figure is live or planned. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 27 September 2026.

Site area: 30.53 acres. Scope campus · current or planned not stated. Site area as stated for this campus. Land area as stated; not building floor area. The source does not say whether the figure is live or planned. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 27 September 2026.

Cooling design reported by the operator: N+1 redundancy. Scope campus · design rating as stated. Cooling design redundancy as the operator states it for this campus. Not cooling technology, capacity or load. A design rating is not evidence that the facility is operating. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 27 September 2026.

UPS design redundancy: N+1 redundancy. Scope campus · design rating as stated. UPS design redundancy as the operator states it for this campus. Not battery runtime, UPS capacity or load. A design rating is not evidence that the facility is operating. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 27 September 2026.

Generator redundancy: N+1 redundancy. Scope campus · design rating as stated. Backup-generator redundancy as the operator states it for this campus. Not generator capacity, fuel or permitted output. A design rating is not evidence that the facility is operating. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 27 September 2026.

DC BLOX · BHM1-B — Additional operator-reported details

  • Carrier neutrality: Company states the site is carrier-neutral campus scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-09-27.

Company-reported values: facts compiled from operators’ public pages with citation. No page text is republished and no license is granted.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Matched to this licensed row on identical full street address.

Listed by DC BLOX on its website (captured 26 September 2026)
Name as listed
Birmingham Data Center
Address as published
433 6th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35233

Lifecycle status is not published for this listing.

Cooling design reported by the operator: N+1 redundancy. Scope facility · design rating as stated. Cooling design redundancy as the operator states it for this facility. Not cooling technology, capacity or load. A design rating is not evidence that the facility is operating. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 26 September 2026.

UPS design redundancy: N+1 redundancy. Scope facility · design rating as stated. UPS design redundancy as the operator states it for this facility. Not battery runtime, UPS capacity or load. A design rating is not evidence that the facility is operating. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 26 September 2026.

Generator redundancy: N+1 redundancy. Scope facility · design rating as stated. Backup-generator redundancy as the operator states it for this facility. Not generator capacity, fuel or permitted output. A design rating is not evidence that the facility is operating. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 26 September 2026.

Tier: Tier III (operator wording: certified). Scope facility · design rating as stated. Tier level as the operator states it for this facility. The operator's own wording (certified) is kept; an Uptime Institute certification is not established by this page. A design rating is not evidence that the facility is operating. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 26 September 2026.

DC BLOX · Birmingham Data Center — Additional operator-reported details

  • Carrier neutrality: Company states the site is carrier-neutral facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-09-26.
  • Certification or compliance claim: Company states Tier III Certification of Constructed Facility certification Certification · facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    A company statement. No issuer record confirming it for this site is recorded here.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-09-26.

Company-reported values: facts compiled from operators’ public pages with citation. No page text is republished and no license is granted.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Matched to this licensed row on identical full street address.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000427

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): mixed use

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • 433 6th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35233 · Jefferson (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: DC BLOX

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 60 MW (stated as “up to”; scope: expansion; provider note: “Up to 5MW critical load; expandable up to 60MW”; the same source also states “49 Critical MW (Committed & Planned)” (campus-level figure on the same operator page; not reconciled by DC BLOX with the 60 MW expansion ceiling); cited source: Birmingham Data Center - Alabama Colocation) (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider). Operational: not established; source review excludes the published operational figure

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-21

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →