Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001032

Nebius Birmingham AI Factory (BHM01)

source-reported under construction

Nebius Group

Birmingham · Jefferson County · Alabama

Reported planned 300 MWSource updated 28 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Nebius Birmingham AI Factory (BHM01).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Nebius Group
Address and locality
Birmingham · Jefferson County · Alabama
Official metro area
Birmingham, AL
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
28 September 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001032

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Alabama PowerUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
80 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: litigationCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
30 September 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Industrial Development Board abatement: 80% of construction-related taxes (excluding education) and 65% of non-educational property taxes, 30 years · Industrial Development Board of the City of Birmingham · 2026 · $3.2 billion (as stated) Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Alabama Power (APCO) confirmed as utility per Nebius's official page; APCO to build new switching/substation infrastructure funded by Nebius.

Water. Nebius has said it plans to incorporate a closed-loop cooling system and 56 industrial chillers across both phases. No water-consumption figure disclosed.

Community. Two lawsuits filed by Oxmoor Valley residents seeking injunctions; the first was dismissed May 29 2026, a second filed June 29 2026. Birmingham City Council approved a revised zoning ordinance June 9 2026 adding 20 data-center regulations, ending the moratorium debate over whether the January permit was validly grandfathered.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Announced permanent jobs: The source note says the roughly 100 to 125 permanent jobs are a projection kept in the notes, not in the jobs field.

What the source record says

Nebius Group's Birmingham AI Factory (site code BHM01); distinct from nebius-vineland-nj and nebius-independence-mo. Capacity phased: Phase I = 100 MW (targeted H2 2026), Phase II adds 200 MW (full 300 MW by 2027-2028). Land acquisition $90M confirmed (2025-09-30); ~$855M in construction permits issued (April 2026) with $2.1B more under review; total capex described as 'tens of billions' (a projection) - so investmentUsd is omitted. ~100-125 projected permanent jobs (in notes, not jobs). Site: former Regions Lakeshore Operations Center (~80 acres) acquired from UAB, Regions Bank, and U.S. Steel; general contractor Hoar Construction. Coordinates address-approximate (201 Milan Pkwy, Oxmoor Corporate Park).

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-09-30 · source-reported permitted

    Land acquisition closed: ~80 acres at Milan Pkwy / Venice Rd acquired for $90M via affiliate Alabama ADC Holdings LLC

  2. 2026-01-29 · source-reported permitted

    Building permit BLD2026-00195 filed; project grandfathered before Birmingham's proposed data-center moratorium

  3. 2026-04-01 · source-reported under construction

    First construction permits issued (~$855M under contract); Hoar Construction begins work

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID nebius-bhm01-birmingham-al. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001032

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Birmingham, AL · Jefferson (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Nebius Group

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 30 September 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-09-30 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-01-29 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-04-01 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 80 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Alabama Power

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: litigation

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Industrial Development Board abatement: 80% of construction-related taxes (excluding education) and 65% of non-educational property taxes, 30 years · Industrial Development Board of the City of Birmingham · 2026 · $3.2 billion (as stated)

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-28

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →