This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for CoreWeave NEST Campus.
Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- CoreWeave
- Address and locality
- Kenilworth · Union County · New Jersey
- Official metro area
- New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 250 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 6 July 2026
- Location precision
- exact (provider label)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000338
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- PSE&G
- Power source
- Grid
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 27 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $1.76 billion
- Announced jobs
- 143 permanent
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
- Announced
- 2025
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- New Jersey EDA 'Next New Jersey — AI' tax credit — up to $250M ($50M/year for five years, performance-based, 10-year retention); CoreWeave was the first award under the program, which NJ later froze · New Jersey · 2025 Open cited source →
Provider notes
Energy. Grid-served via PSE&G (PJM), which conducted load studies and committed grid infrastructure. The site is a former Merck research campus; reports of a legacy on-site power plant and substation are unconfirmed in primary sources.
Water. The mayor states the facility uses a closed-loop cooling system that avoids continuous use of local water; no volume (MGD) is disclosed.
Community. The mayor backs the project as filling the economic gap left by Merck's departure, and CoreWeave is New Jersey-based. But residents circulated a petition with 1,500+ signatures citing water, flood-risk, and electricity-cost concerns, and the state froze the incentive program after broader backlash over power costs.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2025 · source-reported permitted
Awarded $250M NJ state tax credit under new EDA program; CoreWeave purchased former Merck campus on Galloping Hill Rd for $322M
- 2025-09 · source-reported under construction
Construction began September 2025; 392,600 sq ft facility; operational target early 2027
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- CoreWeave begins $1.8B data center project in Kenilworth — Real Estate NJ · Real Estate NJ
- AI Data Center Under Construction in Kenilworth draws mixed reactions — News 12 NJ · News 12 New Jersey
- AI data center under construction in Kenilworth draws mixed reactions from residents — News 12 New Jersey · News 12 New Jersey
- CoreWeave acquires NEST data center for $322m at life-sciences campus in New Jersey — Data Center Dynamics · Data Center Dynamics
- Next New Jersey Program – AI — NJ Economic Development Authority · NJ Economic Development Authority
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID coreweave-kenilworth-nj. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row is retained from 1.33.0+git-e97215faac76, source as of 2026-09-25T23:45:52.227Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000338
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Kenilworth, NJ · Union (Exact location)
Roles
- Operator: CoreWeave
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2025 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2025-09 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 27 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 250 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: PSE&G
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $1.76 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Announced jobs: 143 permanent
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
- Incentive reported by the source: New Jersey EDA 'Next New Jersey — AI' tax credit — up to $250M ($50M/year for five years, performance-based, 10-year retention); CoreWeave was the first award under the program, which NJ later froze · New Jersey · 2025
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-06
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.