This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Cologix Johnstown AI-Ready Campus.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Cologix
- Address and locality
- Johnstown · Licking County · Ohio
- Official metro area
- Columbus, OH
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 800 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 26 July 2026
- Location precision
- approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000292
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- AEP Ohio
- Power source
- Grid
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 154 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Provider label: mixed
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Ohio data-center sales-tax exemption (50%, 10-year) - TCA-approved June 1 2026; the $42.3M award is combined with Cologix's Orange Township (Delaware Co.) project and is not split per site · State of Ohio · 2026 Open cited source →
- City of Johnstown 15-year, 100% property-tax abatement · Johnstown, OH Open cited source →
Provider notes
Energy. AEP Ohio serves Licking County; in late 2024 it filed a large-load tariff requiring data-center customers to pay for at least 85% of contracted capacity. First-phase load ~75 MW, scalable to 176 MW (Signal Ohio). No on-site generation disclosed.
Water. Cologix states 'closed-loop cooling systems that minimize water usage' (Columbus Region, June 2026). Under construction - no metered operational figure.
Community. Johnstown Mayor Donald Barnard endorsed the project; Ohio's data-center sales-tax program drew statewide controversy (a legislative repeal was vetoed June 2025; a new-award moratorium followed June 2026). No Johnstown-specific opposition group was found.
What the source record says
154 acres; up to 800 MW scalable across eight data centers / 2.0M sq ft (800 MW is a full-buildout potential — in notes). The '>$7 billion' figure is a company-wide expansion plan, not a Johnstown-specific committed amount (in notes). Coordinates are the Johnstown, Licking County area centroid. The '>$7B' figure is Cologix's company-wide expansion plan; the $1.17B commitment is combined across Johnstown + Orange Township (not split) -> investmentUsd omitted. Land: ~$45M for 154 acres (Sept 2024).
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2025 · source-reported under construction
Cologix acquired 154 acres in Johnstown for an 8-building AI-ready campus; first-phase development anticipated to begin 2025
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Cologix Expands Central Ohio Footprint with Land Acquisition for New AI-Ready 800MW Data Center Campus · Cologix
- Ohio approves last data-center exemption before moratorium · Signal Ohio
- Cologix expands in Central Ohio · Columbus Region
- Cologix plans 800-MW data center complex in Ohio · POWER Magazine
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID cologix-johnstown-oh. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000292
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Johnstown, OH · Licking (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Cologix
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2025 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 154 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 800 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: AEP Ohio
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: mixed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
- Incentive reported by the source: Ohio data-center sales-tax exemption (50%, 10-year) - TCA-approved June 1 2026; the $42.3M award is combined with Cologix's Orange Township (Delaware Co.) project and is not split per site · State of Ohio · 2026
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: City of Johnstown 15-year, 100% property-tax abatement · Johnstown, OH
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-26
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.