Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000272

Cogent Data Center Akron

source-reported operational

Cogent Communications

120 North Broadway Street · Akron · Summit County · Ohio · 44304

Reported operational 5 MWSource updated 2 August 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Cogent Data Center Akron.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Cogent Communications
Address and locality
120 North Broadway Street · Akron · Summit County · Ohio · 44304
Official metro area
Akron, OH
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Operational: 5 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
2 August 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000272

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Land area
2.6 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

What the source record says

Located in the Cascade Valley neighborhood. Capacity (5.0 MW total / 4.41 MW usable) is press-sourced (Avison Young sale/lease listing via Data Center Dynamics/SDxCentral, Feb 2025), not disclosed on Cogent's own operator page. The facility was marketed for sale/lease as of Feb 2025 (asking $44.1M -- a real-estate listing price, not a capex investment figure) but was confirmed NOT part of Cogent's June 2026 10-facility sale to I Squared Capital; Cogent's own site continues to advertise active colocation service here.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID cogent-akron-summit-county-oh. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

Operator’s own listing

What the operator publishes about this site on its own website, matched to this licensed row by DataCenterData. Facts are taken from the operator’s page, shown with a link to it, and not independently verified; no page text is republished and the licensed values above are unchanged. A match does not establish that the listing and this row cover exactly the same building, suite or boundary, or who owns the site.

Listed by Cogent Communications on its website (captured 25 September 2026)
Name as listed
Akron Data Center
Address as published
120 N Broadway St, Akron, OH 44304

Lifecycle status is not published for this listing.

Floor area: 50,747 square feet. Scope facility · current or planned not stated. Floor area as stated for this facility. Not a different building or campus unless the scope says so. The source does not say whether the figure is live or planned. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 3 October 2026.

Raised-floor or white-space area: 3,528 square feet. Scope facility · current or planned not stated. Raised-floor or white-space area as stated for this facility. Not the total floor area of the building or campus. The source does not say whether the figure is live or planned. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 3 October 2026.

Cogent Communications · Akron Data Center — Additional operator-reported details

  • Network presence: Cogent Carrier · facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-09-25.
  • Network presence: Worldcom Carrier · facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-10-03.
  • Network presence: US Signal Carrier · facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-10-03.
  • Network presence: One Community Carrier · facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-10-03.
  • Network presence: KMC Carrier · facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-10-03.
  • Network presence: ICG Carrier · facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-10-03.
  • Network presence: CenturyLink Carrier · facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-10-03.
  • Network presence: AT&T Carrier · facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-10-03.
  • Network presence: Ameritech Carrier · facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-10-03.
  • Carrier neutrality: Company states the site is carrier-neutral facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-09-25.
  • Specifications and facility pages: Facility specification document — https://www.cogentco.com/files/docs/network/colocation/Akron_Data_Center_Brochure.pdf facility scope

    Company-reported. Not independently verified.

    Open cited source → Captured 2026-10-03.

Company-reported values: facts compiled from operators’ public pages with citation. No page text is republished and no license is granted.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Open the operator’s page → captured 25 September 2026

Matched to this licensed row on identical full street address.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000272

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • 120 North Broadway Street, Akron, OH 44304 · Summit (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Cogent Communications

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 2.6 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Operational: 5 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-08-02

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →