This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Ark Data Centers Akron I (fka Involta).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Ark Data Centers (formerly Involta)
- Address and locality
- Akron · Summit County · Ohio
- Official metro area
- Akron, OH
- Source-reported status
- operational
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Operational: 1 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 25 July 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000094
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Ohio Edison (FirstEnergy)
- Announced investment
- $25 million
- Announced
- August 2010
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Ohio Tax Credit Authority — sales/use tax exemption for data center equipment (50%, 10-yr) · State of Ohio · 2026 Open cited source →
What the source record says
191 E. Miller Ave, Akron, Summit County. First ("3rd-generation" per operator terminology) of two Ark Data Centers buildings at this address — see also Ark Data Centers Akron II, a separate, Tier III-certified building at the same street address. 10,000 sq ft / 300 racks, 1MW utility power with a 1MW N+1 diesel generator, 2N battery UPS. No formal Tier certification found for this building (unlike Akron II). Fiber-ring-connected to the company's Independence, OH facility. The operator's own Ohio rollup page lists a conflicting "Akron: 20,000 sqft / 5MW" combined figure that does not reconcile with the per-building detail page used here — flagged as an inconsistency on the operator's own materials, detail-page figures preferred. No AI/HPC-specific marketing found.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
No status history was supplied in this edition.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Involta / Ark Data Centers — Akron, Ohio · Ark Data Centers
- Ark Data Centers Akron 1 · Data Center Map
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
- Business Journal Daily — "Involta Sees 'Tremendous Market' in Ohio"
- PR Newswire — "Involta, LLC Announces Plan to Build Enterprise Data Center in Akron, Ohio"
- Signal Akron — "$4.5 million tax credit will help data center expand in Akron"
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID ark-data-centers-akron-i-summit-county-oh. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000094
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Akron, OH · Summit (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Ark Data Centers (formerly Involta)
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported operational
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: August 2010
Provider-reported announcement date.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Operational: 1 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Ohio Edison (FirstEnergy)
Utility as named by the provider.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $25 million
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: Ohio Tax Credit Authority — sales/use tax exemption for data center equipment (50%, 10-yr) · State of Ohio · 2026
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-25
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.