This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for AWS Project Atlas – Madison County Mega Site (Canton).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Amazon Web Services
- Address and locality
- Canton · Madison County · Mississippi
- Official metro area
- Jackson, MS
- Source-reported status
- operational
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 1,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 7 October 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000155
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Entergy Mississippi
- Power source
- Solar
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 927 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
- AI-use label (provider)
- mixed use
- Announced
- 2024
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Project Atlas – Mississippi Major Economic Impact Act package · Mississippi · 2024 Open cited source →
- Fee-in-lieu-of-tax agreement · Madison County Open cited source →
Provider notes
Energy. Entergy deploying additional solar farms in Hinds, Washington, and Tallahatchie counties; Entergy investing $2-3B in grid infrastructure (Superpower Mississippi initiative)
Water. Canton facility transitioning to 100% recycled wastewater for cooling by 2027; 83 million gallons annually per Amazon announcement
Community. Canton neighbors report dust, noise and air-quality effects and say they were not consulted; the Southern Environmental Law Center has raised ambient-air-standard concerns over the 700+ diesel generators. No litigation over the Canton campus is documented in the fetched sources.
These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.
- Announced investment: The source note identifies the $10 billion figure as a program-level amount from the original Project Atlas announcement covering both Madison County campuses (Canton and Ridgeland), not this campus alone.
- Announced permanent jobs: The source note identifies the job counts as program-level figures from the original Project Atlas announcement covering both Madison County campuses (Canton and Ridgeland), not this campus alone.
- Announced construction jobs: The source note identifies the job counts as program-level figures from the original Project Atlas announcement covering both Madison County campuses (Canton and Ridgeland), not this campus alone.
What the source record says
Two distinct complexes: Madison County Mega Site (outside Canton) and Costas Property (west of Tougaloo College near County Line Rd, Ridgeland). Amazon's total Mississippi statewide commitment expanded to $25B including subsequent Warren County ($3B) and Hinds County ($1B) announcements. Coordinates are approximate Canton-area centroid. Veolia water partnership claim removed: About Amazon source names Arable (not Veolia) as water replenishment partner; recycled wastewater target of 83M gallons/year by 2027 is confirmed. NARROWED TO CANTON 2026-09-10 (maintainer adjudication): this record previously combined two campuses. Madison County's own tax administration treats them as separate — it 'has entered into two fee-in-lieu-of-taxes agreements with the tech giant for its data center campuses in Canton and Ridgeland' (Mississippi Free Press, 2026-08-19) — and Magnolia Tribune (2024-07-24) gives the physical split: the Madison County Mega Site is '927 acres ... located off Highway 22 and Nissan Parkway in Canton', while the Costas Property is 'an additional 786 acres in Ridgeland'. The Ridgeland campus is therefore now tracked separately as aws-costas-ridgeland-ms, and landAcres here was reduced from the combined 1,700 to Canton's 927 so the two records do not double-count acreage. ⚠️ capacityMw, investmentUsd and jobs on this record remain PROGRAM-LEVEL figures from the original Project Atlas announcement covering BOTH Madison County campuses; they are deliberately left in place here rather than split, because no source apportions them per campus. Do NOT sum them with aws-costas-ridgeland-ms, which carries no capacity, investment or jobs figures for exactly this reason. location.precision was also corrected from 'exact' to 'approximate': this record's own notes already stated the coordinate is a Canton-area centroid, so the 'exact' claim was wrong. CORRECTION: this record aggregates two campuses that Madison County's own tax/incentive administration treats as legally and financially separate -- the Madison County Mega Site (927 acres, off Highway 22 and Nissan Parkway, Canton) and the Costas Property (786 acres, Highland Colony Parkway / West County Line Road, Ridgeland) -- confirmed by a 2026-08-19 Mississippi Free Press report on Madison County's denial of AWS's Canton tax-valuation appeal: the county 'has entered into two fee-in-lieu-of-taxes agreements with the tech giant for its data center campuses in Canton and Ridgeland.' Recommend re-scoping this record to the Canton (Madison County Mega Site) campus alone -- its location.lat/lon (32.6121, -90.039) and 'exact' precision already read as Canton-specific, closer to Canton than to Ridgeland -- and using the companion new-facility record aws-costas-ridgeland-ms (786 acres, Highland Colony Pkwy/West County Line Rd intersection) for Ridgeland. Do NOT attempt to apportion this record's combined capacityMw (1000 MW planned), investmentUsd ($10B), or jobs (7,000/1,000) by site -- no source fetched in this run or last wave's states a per-site breakdown of those figures; apportioning by acreage share (54%/46%) would be a fabricated estimate. Note also that Ridgeland is itself within Madison County, so the aggregate's 'Madison County' framing is not geographically wrong, only combined.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2024 · source-reported proposed
AWS confirmed as operator behind $10B Madison County development; two hyperscale complexes at Madison County Mega Site and Costas Property near Tougaloo College [Scope note added 2026-09-10: this note is preserved verbatim as the 2024 historical record, when this row covered BOTH Madison County campuses. The row was narrowed to the Canton Mega Site (927 acres) on 2026-09-10; the Ridgeland Costas Property is tracked separately as aws-costas-ridgeland-ms. Read the acreage and the 'two parks' framing here as history, not as this record's current scope.]
- 2024 · source-reported under construction
Construction underway across approximately 1,700 acres in two Madison County industrial parks; completion expected 2027 [Scope note added 2026-09-10: this note is preserved verbatim as the 2024 historical record, when this row covered BOTH Madison County campuses. The row was narrowed to the Canton Mega Site (927 acres) on 2026-09-10; the Ridgeland Costas Property is tracked separately as aws-costas-ridgeland-ms. Read the acreage and the 'two parks' framing here as history, not as this record's current scope.]
- 2026-10-07 · source-reported operational
The City of Clarksdale's March 2026 data center FAQ describes the AWS Project Atlas campus in Madison County as the only data center project in operation in Mississippi, with five hyperscale building developments in operation and more under construction.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- AWS confirmed as company behind $10bn Mississippi data center development · Data Center Dynamics
- Amazon plans to invest $25 billion in Mississippi data centers, create 2,000 jobs · About Amazon
- Amazon Delivers Record Package to Mississippi · Site Selection Magazine
- Amazon's Canton AI Data Center Brings Dust, Noise and Pollution Fears for Neighbors · Mississippi Free Press
- Madison County Denies Amazon's Valuation Appeal for Canton Data Centers · Mississippi Free Press
- Proposed Hyperscale Data Center Project, Clarksdale, MS: Frequently Asked Questions · City of Clarksdale
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-project-atlas-madison-county-ms. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000155
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): mixed use
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Canton, MS · Madison (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Amazon Web Services
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported operational
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 2024
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2024 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2024 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2026-10-07 · source-reported operational
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 927 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 1,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Entergy Mississippi
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Solar
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
- Incentive reported by the source: Project Atlas – Mississippi Major Economic Impact Act package · Mississippi · 2024
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: Fee-in-lieu-of-tax agreement · Madison County
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-10-07
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.