Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000148

Lake Anna Technology Campus (LATC)

source-reported under construction

Amazon Web Services

Louisa · Louisa County · Virginia

Reported planned 600 MWSource updated 21 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Lake Anna Technology Campus (LATC).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Amazon Web Services
Address and locality
Louisa · Louisa County · Virginia
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 600 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
21 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000148

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Rappahannock Electric Co-opUtility as named by the provider.
Land area
153 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: supportedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Community. The Louisa County Board of Supervisors approved the Technology Overlay District 6-1 (April 2023) — the zoning action the county and AWS both cite as enabling LATC (and NCTC) ahead of the ~$11B combined investment announcement — with no organized opposition documented at that hearing.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Cooling: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.

What the source record says

One of two AWS campuses in Louisa's Technology Overlay District (approved by BOS April 2023, ~$11B combined investment across both). Up to seven data center buildings (~1.7M sq ft), two 300MW substations. First DC targeted online late 2025/early 2026. A third AWS Louisa campus proposal (1,370 acres near Northeast Creek Reservoir) was withdrawn/cancelled by AWS in July 2025 — not included per do-not-fabricate rule (cancelled, not net-new). Capacity corrected to 600 MW (two 300 MW substations per Louisa County reporting; a prior 420 MW figure was unsourced). Land-disturbance + VA DEQ stormwater permits issued; grading underway. Landowner: REB Investment Company, LLC.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2024-07-22 · source-reported under construction

    under construction per Louisa County land-disturbance permit + VA DEQ stormwater permit (reported via county-sourced local coverage)

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-lake-anna-technology-campus-louisa-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000148

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Louisa, VA (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Amazon Web Services

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2024-07-22 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 153 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 600 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Rappahannock Electric Co-op

    Utility as named by the provider.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: supported

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-21

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →