This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for AWS Hermiston Data Center Campuses.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Amazon Web Services
- Address and locality
- Hermiston · Umatilla County · Oregon
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- operational
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 15 August 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000143
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Umatilla Electric Cooperative
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Enterprise zone property tax abatement, 15 years, one per campus
Provider notes
Community. Hermiston granted Amazon 15-year property tax breaks for each of its two campuses. OPB reports Amazon contributed about $25 million toward water and other utility infrastructure so the city could deliver water to the site, and about $9 million toward a city-built RV park for construction workers (the Tri-Cities Area Journal of Business separately reported $8 million for a 20-acre, 100-space RV park next to the Eastern Oregon Trade & Event Center). City franchise-fee revenue rose from $1 million in 2024 to a projected $3.4 million by end of 2026. …
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
No status history was supplied in this edition.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Why data centers pose an outsized threat to Eastern Oregon's air quality — 'In Hermiston, Amazon has hired hundreds of employees and contractors to staff its two hyperscale data center campuses'; 'Hermiston has given the company 15-year tax breaks for each campus' · Oregon Public Broadcasting
- Hermiston clears the way for data center industry — two data centers under construction in Hermiston; city council voted Sept. 9, 2025 to annex 800 acres zoned for hyperscale data center use · Oregon Public Broadcasting
- Umatilla County Ordinance 2025-11 (Oct. 15, 2025) — co-adopts the Hermiston urban growth boundary expansion of approximately 810 acres and inserts a new section 157.058 'Hyperscale Data Center (HDC) Overlay' after the Heavy Industrial Zone; legal descriptions total roughly 824 acres across Sections 21, 25, 26, 27 and 28, Township 4 North, Range 28 East · Umatilla County Board of Commissioners
- Hermiston adds 810 acres to support future data centers — AWS operates multiple campuses in Hermiston, Umatilla and Boardman; 2024 Economic Opportunities Analysis cited a lack of property for hyperscale data center development · Tri-Cities Area Journal of Business
- Small eastern Oregon city could be next hotspot for big data centers — enumerates Amazon's Umatilla County footprint as of Sept 2023: two existing data centers in Umatilla and two more under construction there plus two with tax-break agreements; one operating data center in unincorporated Umatilla County near Hermiston, one under construction within Hermiston city limits, and two further Hermiston projects with negotiated tax deals · The Bulletin (Bend, OR)
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-hermiston-or. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000143
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Hermiston, OR · Umatilla (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Amazon Web Services
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported operational
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Umatilla Electric Cooperative
Utility as named by the provider.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Incentive reported by the source: Enterprise zone property tax abatement, 15 years, one per campus
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-08-15
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.