This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Applied Digital Polaris Forge 3.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Applied Digital Corporation
- Address and locality
- Hanover · Oliver County · North Dakota
- Official metro area
- Bismarck, ND
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 430 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 10 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000087
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Announced jobs
- 200 permanent · 1,000 construction
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
- Announced
- May 2026
Provider notes
Community. Oliver County commissioners enacted, then repealed, a 180-day countywide data-center moratorium (approved ~June 2026, repealed by July 10, 2026) amid resident concerns raised at public meetings.
What the source record says
Distinct 3rd North Dakota site (not the Ellendale or Harwood campuses), south of Hanover near the Hwy 25/31 junction. MDU Resources power deal finalized June 23, 2026. Approximately 200 FTE jobs planned; groundbreaking targeted summer 2026.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-07-10 · source-reported proposed
MDU Resources power deal finalized 2026-06-23; road-use agreement signed with the county July 10, 2026; groundbreaking planned summer 2026.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Applied Digital expands North Dakota, eyes Oliver County third data center · Valley News Live
- Applied Digital submits rezoning application for data center in Oliver County · KFYR
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID applied-digital-polaris-forge-3-oliver-nd. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000087
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Hanover, ND · Oliver (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Applied Digital Corporation
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: May 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-07-10 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 430 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced jobs: 200 permanent · 1,000 construction
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-10
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.