Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000078

Apple Mesa Data Center (Global Command Center)

source-reported operational

Apple

Mesa · Maricopa County · Arizona

Capacity not statedSource updated 31 August 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Apple Mesa Data Center (Global Command Center).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Apple
Address and locality
Mesa · Maricopa County · Arizona
Official metro area
Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
31 August 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000078

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Salt River Project (SRP)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
SolarProvider label.
Announced investment
$2 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
150 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2015Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Foreign-Trade Zone Subzone 221A — confers an Arizona property-tax reclassification; no dollar value is published for this site · U.S. Foreign-Trade Zones Board / City of Mesa (FTZ 221 grantee) · 2014 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Apple partnered with SRP in 2014 to site the 282-acre, 50MW Bonnybrooke solar farm in Florence, AZ, operational December 2016.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Land area: The source note says acreage is not disclosed in the fetched sources.

What the source record says

Apple's Global Data and Command Center at 3740 S Signal Butte Rd, Mesa, Maricopa County — a converted former GT Advanced sapphire plant (~1.3M sq ft), operational in the ~2016-2018 window, a $2B investment (Mesa Now / Data Center Knowledge), solar-powered. Functions as Apple's worldwide data-center monitoring/command hub. Apple's Feb 2025 newsroom names Arizona among states for continued data-center capacity expansion. No site-specific IT-load MW is disclosed; acreage not disclosed in fetched sources. Coordinates are an approximate geocode of the Signal Butte Rd address; a county-parcel pass could upgrade precision to exact.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2018 · source-reported operational

    Operational Global Command Center (converted GT Advanced sapphire plant); $2B, 1.3M sq ft; latest expansion completed April 2018 per Data Center Knowledge.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID apple-mesa-az. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000078

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Mesa, AZ · Maricopa (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Apple

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2015

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2018 · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Salt River Project (SRP)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Solar

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $2 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 150 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Foreign-Trade Zone Subzone 221A — confers an Arizona property-tax reclassification; no dollar value is published for this site · U.S. Foreign-Trade Zones Board / City of Mesa (FTZ 221 grantee) · 2014

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-08-31

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →