This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Apple Maiden Data Center (iCloud).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Apple
- Address and locality
- Maiden · Catawba County · North Carolina
- Official metro area
- Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton, NC
- Source-reported status
- operational
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 24 July 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000077
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Duke Energy
- Power source
- Mixed
- On-site generation
- 10 MW (source-reported)
- Land area
- 183 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
- Announced
- 2009
Provider notes
Energy. Apple built roughly 50MW of dedicated clean generation to serve this campus — 40MW across two 20MW solar farms plus a ~10MW Bloom Energy fuel cell array running on landfill biogas, the largest non-utility fuel cell installation in the US at the time.
What the source record says
Apple's flagship U.S. iCloud data center on Startown Rd near Maiden, Catawba County — Apple's first company-owned data center, operational since 2010, with a large adjacent solar array. Apple's Feb 2025 newsroom names North Carolina among the states where it will 'continue expanding data center capacity' as part of its Apple Intelligence buildout. No site-specific IT-load MW is disclosed. Coordinates are an approximate geocode of the disclosed Startown Rd address (~183 ac per public reporting); a county-parcel pass could upgrade precision to exact.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2010 · source-reported operational
Operational since 2010 (Apple's first company-owned data center); NC named for continued expansion in Apple's Feb 2025 $500B newsroom release.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Apple will spend more than $500 billion in the U.S. over the next four years — names NC among states for continued data-center capacity expansion (Apple Intelligence) · Apple Newsroom
- North Carolina data center is part of Apple's $500 billion expansion plan across the US · Catawba County Economic Development Corp
- Apple's 20-megawatt solar farm near NC data center gets NCUC approval (9to5Mac)
- Solar and fuel cell farms for Apple's NC data center now completely operational (iMore)
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID apple-maiden-nc. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
Operator’s own listing
What the operator publishes about this site on its own website, matched to this licensed row by DataCenterData. Facts are taken from the operator’s page, shown with a link to it, and not independently verified; no page text is republished and the licensed values above are unchanged. A match does not establish that the listing and this row cover exactly the same building, suite or boundary, or who owns the site.
- Name as listed
- Maiden
- Address as published
- Maiden, NC
Lifecycle status is not published for this listing.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.
This exact source identifier is linked to Apple Maiden Data Center Campus. The licensed row remains a separate discovery record.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000077
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Maiden, NC · Catawba (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Apple
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported operational
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 2009
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2010 · source-reported operational
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 183 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Duke Energy
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Mixed
Provider label.
- On-site generation: 10 MW (source-reported)
On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-24
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.