Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000080

Apple Reno Data Center (Reno Technology Park)

source-reported operational

Apple

Sparks · Washoe County · Nevada

Capacity not statedSource updated 14 August 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Apple Reno Data Center (Reno Technology Park).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Apple
Address and locality
Sparks · Washoe County · Nevada
Official metro area
Reno, NV
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
14 August 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000080

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
NV EnergyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
SolarProvider label.
Land area
1,700 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2012Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Nevada data center sales and property tax abatements (Washoe County / State of Nevada) · Nevada — Washoe County · 2012 · $89 million (as stated) Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Apple financed and built the Fort Churchill Solar project (Apple's first Nevada solar deal, ~20MW) and later the larger Turquoise Solar project (61MWdc, ~180 acres) sited directly inside the Reno Technology Park next to Apple's Sparks data center, connected via a shared substation developed with Apple.

What the source record says

Apple data center at 21505 Reno Technology Parkway W, Sparks, Washoe County — the first data center built at the Reno Technology Park, opened December 2012. Per Apple's July 2024 letter in a Nevada GOED tax-abatement board packet, the campus had grown to four data-center buildings plus a power substation across 1,700 acres, with 200+ staff; Apple committed to further investment (a 2024 expansion capex of ~$742M over 5 years / ~$992M over 10 years is documented in the GOED filing). No site-specific IT-load MW is disclosed. Coordinates are an address-level geocode (ArcGIS, exact-address match); a county-parcel pass could upgrade precision to exact.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2012 · source-reported operational

    Opened December 2012 as the first data center at the Reno Technology Park; grown to four buildings + a substation across 1,700 acres per Apple's July 2024 letter in the GOED filing.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID apple-reno-nv. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row is retained from 1.33.0+git-e97215faac76, source as of 2026-09-25T23:45:52.227Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000080

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Sparks, NV · Washoe (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Apple

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2012

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2012 · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 1,700 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: NV Energy

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Solar

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Incentive reported by the source: Nevada data center sales and property tax abatements (Washoe County / State of Nevada) · Nevada — Washoe County · 2012 · $89 million (as stated)

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-08-14

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →