Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001488

Farmington Technology Park (Tract)

source-reported proposed

Tract

2830 W. 220th St. · Farmington · Dakota County · Minnesota

Reported planned 708 MWSource updated 18 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Farmington Technology Park (Tract).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Tract
Address and locality
2830 W. 220th St. · Farmington · Dakota County · Minnesota
Official metro area
Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 708 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
18 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001488

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Land area
340 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$5 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
275 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: litigationCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
Announced
November 2024Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Community. Two residents and the Coalition for Responsible Data Center Development sued to stop the project, alleging violations of the Orderly Annexation Agreement between Farmington and Castle Rock Township and raising water, electricity, noise and air-quality objections. The City of Farmington records the matter as case 19HA-CV-25-992 with plaintiff dismissals filed as of 2026-09-16.

What the source record says

Denver-based land developer Tract's speculative hyperscale campus at the former Fountain Valley Golf Club (2830 220th St W) plus adjacent Farmington school-district land, Dakota County. Final plat/PUD unanimously approved by Planning Commission Nov 12, 2024; City Council approved final plat/PUD Nov 18, 2024 and a development contract Dec 2, 2024. Tract closed on the golf-course land purchase Feb 10, 2026 ($18M, per a Tract exec, injecting ~$3,000/student into the school district). City Council split the Technology Park into two phases in April 2026; recording deadline for the final plat extended to May 18, 2026. END USER NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED as of source dates — Tract builds speculative 'powered shell' campuses for undisclosed hyperscale tenants, so treat operator as the developer, not a confirmed end-user. Two lawsuits pending (Castle Rock Township + Farmington residents) over water use, noise, and setbacks; judge denied the city's motion to dismiss in November 2025/2026. Facility scope: up to 12 buildings, 2.5M+ sq ft, plus 2 admin buildings. Coordinates are an approximate estimate for 220th St W south of downtown Farmington — not geocoded this session, verify before publish. Operating entities: MNLCO Farmington LLC / MNLCO Farmington Two LLC.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID tract-farmington-technology-park-mn. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001488

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • 2830 W. 220th St., Farmington, MN · Dakota (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Tract

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: November 2024

    Provider-reported announcement date.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 340 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 708 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $5 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 275 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: litigation

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-18

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →